The Daughters of Izdihar

The Daughters of Izdihar

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 12/01/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Daughters of Izdihar
a fantastic debut and I would highly recommend picking it up!
4.5 stars Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a free eARC in exchange for an honest review! I wasn't expecting to love this as... READ MORE
Millie Slingsby

Synopsis

'A gorgeous, clever feminist fantasy novel rich with magic, politics, hunger and fire. An absolute must-read' Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine Throne

Trapped in an arranged marriage to a man she does not love, Nehal dreams of attending the Weaving Academy. There, she can take control of her powers, bending any water to her will, and pursue a glorious future on the battlefield with the first all-female military regiment. Her husband, indifferent and secretive, is in love with another woman, a poor bookseller named Giorgina.

Giorgina has her own secret. She is an earthweaver with dangerously uncontrollable powers. Her only solace comes from meetings with the Daughters of Izdihar, a women's rights group fighting for freedom. They come from very different means, yet Nehal and Giorgina have more in common than they think.

Enticed by the group's enigmatic leader Malak Mamdouh, the two women are drawn into a web of politics, violence and threats of war as they find themselves fighting to earn - and keep - a lasting freedom.

A powerful feminist fantasy set in an Egyptian-inspired world, with breathtaking elemental magic and sapphic romance, perfect for fans of The Jasmine Throne and The Once and Future Witches.

Praise for The Daughters of Izdihar:

'Hadeer Elsbai has written a powerful story of sisterhood, love, and struggle within a rich, vibrant world with complicated characters that leap from the page to smash the patriarchy!' P. Djèlí Clark, author of A Master of Djinn

'A wondrously rich fantasy that highlights the true struggle to revolutionize a society. . . a debut not to be missed' Shannon Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

'Action-packed, magic-filled, and led by two fierce, vividly-rendered women, The Daughters of Izdihar is a compelling and empowering debut' Ava Reid, author of Juniper and Thorn

'A thrilling tale of two women's fight for rights in their patriarchal society, peppered with elemental magic, politics, and a relentless desire for that which is wrongly forbidden.' Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

'A powerful fantasy novel filled with clever magic, intriguing politics, and compelling characters who forge a path toward justice, no matter the obstacle' Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief

'An absolutely enthralling tale of two women striving for a better world' Sarah Beth Durst, author of The Queen of Blood

'Magnificent, complex, compelling' Davinia Evans, author of Notorious Sorcerer

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356520476
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 273g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Daughters of Izdihar
HELLO FEMALE RAGE LOVERS, DO I HAVE THE PERFECT BOOK FOR YOU!
The Daughters of Izdihar is a feminist fantasy. That's it. Read it now. NOW I SAY. We follow two PoVs, that of Nehal (our resident angry girl) and Giorgin... READ MORE
Milica S.
The Daughters of Izdihar
A fresh and fun read!
Before I get started, I'd like to say thank you to both to NetGalley and Little Brown, Orbit for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. Have you ever ... READ MORE
@iam_addicted_to_books
The Daughters of Izdihar
A powerful fantasy novel
The Daughters of Izdihar is a tale of conflict, tradition against non-traditionalism, and the right to equality against the menacing tentacles of power and... READ MORE
Neil Sharma
The Daughters of Izdihar
A feminist fantasy inspired by historical Egypt
My thanks to Little, Brown Book Group Orbit for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Daughters of Izdihar’ by Hadeer Elsbai. This debut novel is the first part o... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
The Daughters of Izdihar
A great mix of magic and politics with a side of romance
I saw Egypt, women with elemental magic fighting for their rights and I was like, I must read this. I was not disappointed. This is written from a couple... READ MORE
NoxWitchBookLife