The Excitements

The Excitements

Hardback Published on: 18/01/2024
RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Excitements
Truly exciting
Delving into the pasts of its mysterious main characters, this novel balanced wit and warmth with suspense and intrigue. I was gripped to the page as it re... READ MORE
Sophie at Windsor

Synopsis

Revenge is a dish best served old. Meet the Williamson sisters, Britain's most treasured World War II veterans. Now in their nineties, Josephine and Penny are in demand, popping up at commemorative events all over the country. Despite their age, they're in great form-sprightly and sparky, and always in search of their next "excitement." This time it's a trip to Paris to receive the Légion d'honneur, accompanied by their devoted great-nephew, Archie. Keen historian Archie believes his great aunts had minor roles in the Women's Royal Navy and the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry, but that's only half the story. There's a reason sweet Auntie Penny can dispatch a would-be mugger with a brolly. This trip to Paris is not what it seems either. Scandal and crime have quietly trailed the sisters since the war. Now armed with new information about an old adversary, these much decorated (but admittedly ancient) veterans intend to settle scores, avenge lost friends, and pull off one last heist before the curtain comes down on their illustrious careers. A charming, uplifting and cosy mystery about two national treasures hiding official secrets and double lives - perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club.

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781398711839
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 574g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Excitements
Hugely enjoyable and highly recommended!
Absolutely loved this exciting quirky very British tale. Archie absolutely adores his great great aunts Penny and Josephine. The two Williamson sisters h... READ MORE
Felicity
The Excitements
Brilliant, amusing and interesting
I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I read this for discussion with my online book club (TBConFB) however jumped straight in. At first it seemed a l... READ MORE
Karen Farrow
The Excitements
These ladies bring mayhem in their wake but with a delightful sparkle and some gusto!
A tale that spans decades of deceit & secrets with a sly grin. The joie de vivre of Josephine and Penny is joyous, their sheer defiance of the perceptions ... READ MORE
L.M
The Excitements
A delightful cozy read
What a fun cozy read. Chapter one introduces us to Archie Williamson waiting for his two great aunts Josephine and Penelope ‘Penny’ in a department store c... READ MORE
Lynda Checkley
The Excitements
Delightful fun. ‘Toujours gai’
What a fun cozy read. Chapter one introduces us to Archie Williamson waiting for his two great aunts Josephine and Penelope ‘Penny’ in a department store c... READ MORE
Lynda Checkley