The Excitements

The Excitements

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 18/01/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Excitements
Truly exciting
Delving into the pasts of its mysterious main characters, this novel balanced wit and warmth with suspense and intrigue. I was gripped to the page as it re... READ MORE
@wishful_reader_

Synopsis

Revenge is a dish best served old.

Meet the Williamson sisters, Britain's most treasured World War II veterans. Now in their nineties, Josephine and Penny are in demand, popping up at commemorative events all over the country. Despite their age, they're in great form-sprightly and sparky, and always in search of their next "excitement." This time it's a trip to Paris to receive the Légion d'honneur, accompanied by their devoted great-nephew, Archie.

Keen historian Archie believes his great aunts had minor roles in the Women's Royal Navy and the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry, but that's only half the story. There's a reason sweet Auntie Penny can dispatch a would-be mugger with a brolly. This trip to Paris is not what it seems either. Scandal and crime have quietly trailed the sisters since the war. Now armed with new information about an old adversary, these much decorated (but admittedly ancient) veterans intend to settle scores, avenge lost friends, and pull off one last heist before the curtain comes down on their illustrious careers.

A charming, uplifting and cosy mystery about two national treasures hiding official secrets and double lives - perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club.

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781398711839
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 574g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Excitements
Hugely enjoyable and highly recommended!
Absolutely loved this exciting quirky very British tale. Archie absolutely adores his great great aunts Penny and Josephine. The two Williamson sisters h... READ MORE
Felicity
The Excitements
Brilliant, amusing and interesting
I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I read this for discussion with my online book club (TBConFB) however jumped straight in. At first it seemed a l... READ MORE
Karen Farrow
The Excitements
These ladies bring mayhem in their wake but with a delightful sparkle and some gusto!
A tale that spans decades of deceit & secrets with a sly grin. The joie de vivre of Josephine and Penny is joyous, their sheer defiance of the perceptions ... READ MORE
L.M
The Excitements
A delightful cozy read
What a fun cozy read. Chapter one introduces us to Archie Williamson waiting for his two great aunts Josephine and Penelope ‘Penny’ in a department store c... READ MORE
Lynda Checkley
The Excitements
Delightful fun. ‘Toujours gai’
What a fun cozy read. Chapter one introduces us to Archie Williamson waiting for his two great aunts Josephine and Penelope ‘Penny’ in a department store c... READ MORE
Lynda Checkley
The Excitements
A fun adventure
*Provided by The Reading Agency and Orion* I wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did but I’m very glad to say I was proven wrong! Things ... READ MORE
Lindsay  Davis
The Excitements
A Charming and Witty Read!
*Provided by the Reading Agency and Orion* *Minor Spoilers* When I first received this book, I was apprehensive as many had suggested that it was great... READ MORE
Bethany Whelband
The Excitements
Delightful!
*Provided by the Reading Agency and Orion* When I first was provided this book I was apprehensive as I rarely read fiction books with the main character... READ MORE
Paige
The Excitements
Provided by The Reading Agency and Orion
Just finished this and found it bubbly, smiling funny not laugh out loud funny Main protagonists are elderly similar to the Thursday Murder Club but one i... READ MORE
Fiona
The Excitements
Light hearted with lots of surprises
*Provided by the Reading Agency and Orion* This is such a good read, full of interest and intrigue. A witty tale with a few surprises, well written with... READ MORE
Angela Higgins
The Excitements
Sadly, I found this very disappointing
Penny and Josephine Williamson are respected World War II veterans, both in their nineties. Visiting Paris to receive the Légion d’Honneur, accompanied by ... READ MORE
Oundle Crime