The Fate of Mary Rose

The Fate of Mary Rose

Paperback Published on: 17/10/2024
Coming soon
Published 17/10/2024
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

THE PITCH-BLACK FORGOTTEN CLASSIC OF 2024

From the Booker-shortlisted author of Great Granny Webster, this mordant gem of a thriller is perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson, Celia Dale and Ottessa Moshfegh.

'One of the greatest, darkest writers who ever lived' Virginia Feito
'This chillingly profound story drips with classy darkness. . . a one-way descent into the abyss' Janice Hallett
A wry, dark and knowing laugh rings out from Caroline Blackwood's scalpel-sharp prose' Camilla Grudova
'Vibrates with a frenzied, manic menace' Lucy Scholes
'A devastating investigation of neurosis, hysteria and cruelty' Observer
'A winner . . . Guaranteed to disturb' Sunday Times
'Caroline Blackwood sits firmly alongside the greats like Shirley Jackson and Patricia Highsmith' Araminta Hall

***

She was dead even before I became aware of her existence . . .

A child has been abducted from a sleepy Kent village, her face plastered across the media.

As the crime unleashes a wave of hysteria, the claustrophobic world of Rowan Anderson and his inscrutable wife begins to disintegrate. Consumed by her macabre fixation, Cressida is determined to save their sickly daughter, Mary Rose, from the same fate - and perhaps even from Rowan himself.

With caustic wit and pitch-black brilliance, Caroline Blackwood creates a skin-crawling - and utterly compulsive - story of repressed violence, female rage, and maternal obsession.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780349019048
  • Number of pages: 240
  • Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 22 mm

Customer Reviews

You may also like...