The Figurine

The Figurine

Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 28/09/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

In her irresistible new novel, Sunday Times No 1 bestselling author Victoria Hislop shines a light on the questionable acquisition of cultural treasures and the price people - and countries - will pay to cling on to them. Of all the ancient art that captures the imagination, none is more appealing than the Cycladic figurine. An air of mystery swirls around these statuettes from the Bronze Age and they are highly sought after by collectors - and looters - alike. When Helena inherits her grandparents' apartment in Athens, she is overwhelmed with memories of the summers she spent there as a child, when Greece was under a brutal military dictatorship. Her remote, cruel grandfather was one of the regime's generals and as she sifts through the dusty rooms, Helena discovers an array of valuable objects and antiquities. How did her grandfather amass such a trove? What human price was paid for them? Her desire to find answers about her heritage dovetails with a growing curiosity for archaeology, ignited by a summer spent with volunteers on a dig on an Aegean island. Their finds fuel her determination to protect the precious fragments recovered from the baked earth - and to understand the origins of her grandfather's collection. Helena's attempt to make amends for some of her grandfather's actions sees her wrestle with the meaning of 'home', both in relation to looted objects of antiquity ... and herself.

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781472263933
  • Number of pages: 528
  • Weight: 930g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 50 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Figurine
A crime novel, travelogue, history and romance (with a bit of Greek revenge drama thrown in)!
I read this book with the Pigeonhole. It was my first Victoria Hislop book and I am looking forward to reading many more. This novel gives the reader many ... READ MORE
Philippa Watkinson
The Figurine
Recommended for fans of Victoria Hislop and Greek sociocultural history
As a child, Helena travels to Greece during the Summer to visit her grandparents. Whilst she builds a relationship with her grandmother, she is weary of he... READ MORE
Laura Oliphant
The Figurine
In parts really interesting
The first part covering Helena's childhood visits to Greece are really interesting. They give an insight of what it was like to be part of the wealthy, ru... READ MORE
Joy Bosworth
The Figurine
An engaging coming-of-age story that explores the world of trade in illegal antiquities
“The theft of cultural treasures and the falsification of provenance diminishes our understanding of civilisation. Every object illegally removed, smuggled... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan