The Girl Who Broke the Sea

The Girl Who Broke the Sea

Children's, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 02/02/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Lily's emotional problems run deep - three miles deep. After she gets kicked out of school for her destructive behaviour, Lily agrees to an unusual fresh start: going with her mum to live at Deephaven, an experimental deep-sea mining rig and research station located at the bottom of the ocean. Lily instantly regrets her decision: claustrophobic and isolated, it's hardly her idea of home. Turns out, Deephaven has problems of its own. The head scientist, they quickly learn, has disappeared - just as he was on the brink of a shocking discovery. In the darkness of the deep, something is stirring ... something dangerous. And it's calling out to Lily. A mind-expanding thriller set in the ocean's depths, a terrifying struggle for survival - and the story of one girl's path to self-acceptance. Writer A. Connors is an exciting debut author writing for teens and young adults Perfect for fans of Lauren James, Marie Lu and Marissa Meyer.

  • Publisher: Scholastic
  • ISBN: 9780702317583
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 270g
  • Dimensions: 200 x 152 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Girl Who Broke the Sea
An intelligent and gripping thriller
Science has always fascinated me. The almost endless possibilities for discovery and progress have always caused me to question things and long before I wa... READ MORE
Jacqui  Sydney
The Girl Who Broke the Sea
The Girl Who Broke The Sea opened up a somewhat chasm within myself, one that felt Lily’s heart echoing back at me.
A fresh start is exact what Lily needs—in fact, it’s what she has to have. Dubbed as having “emotional problems” by her old school headmaster (“breaking st... READ MORE
Rebecca Barrett
The Girl Who Broke the Sea
Impossible to put down!
This is a total cracker of a read that starts at a pace that continues throughout - making it impossible to put down! Connor's writing is totally immersive... READ MORE
Imogen White
The Girl Who Broke the Sea
Starts well and just keeps getting better
I loved this book. From start to finish, it's a totally absorbing story that moves seamlessly between science and myth, past and present, action and relati... READ MORE
Evie Miller