The Golden Hour

The Golden Hour

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 22/02/2024
£22.00
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'What a sumptuous, evocative triumph of a novel!' Jenny Ashcroft At the golden hour, hidden truths and desires come to light . . .In the genteel squares of late-Victorian Brighton, Ellen and Reynold Harper - twins, companions, colleagues - ply their trade as portrait photographers.But at the golden hour, the models arrive to pose for the lucrative - and illicit - photographs that really keep the Harpers' business afloat. This is the other, shadowy world of the city: a world of erotic tableaux, boundary-crossing music hall performers, and the sinister figure of the local gangster, the Croc.When Ellen is drawn into the orbit of unhappy newly-wed Clementine, she finds herself torn between loyalty to her brother, her dangerous attraction to new model, Lily, and her burgeoning friendship with Clem. And as the two worlds of Brighton collide, the three women discover that there is only a knife edge between the promise of freedom, and the threat of ruin . . .Atmospheric, sensual and powerfully moving, The Golden Hour is a spellbinding portrait of three women determined to find their freedom - perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, The Doll Factory and The Essex Serpent.Praise for The Golden Hour: 'A divine and sumptuous portrait of Victorian Brighton, written in gloriously seductive prose, I was enthralled' Amanda Geard, author of The Midnight House'A glorious and sumptuous feast for the senses and it drew me in from the start, wanting to find out more about these women's stories and their struggles for freedom and change. It's an absolute joy. I couldn't put it down' Rosanna Ley, author of The Orange Grove'A captivating panorama of late-Victorian Brighton... Beautifully atmospheric' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife'I was hooked from the very beginning... The characters and the setting were all portrayed with such vivid colour and conviction' Suzanne Goldring, author of My Name is Eva'Luminous... Perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Sarah Perry' Sean Lusk, author of The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781529377361
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 600g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 156 x 36 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Golden Hour
Victorian lives
An unusual subject for a novel. Set in the latter part of the 19th century, twins Ellen and Reynolds Harper struggle at living as traditional photographers... READ MORE
Romany
The Golden Hour
A stunning read
A divine and sumptuous portrait of Victorian Brighton, written in gloriously seductive prose. Jacquie Bloese writes so evocatively, truly drawing on all th... READ MORE
Amanda Geard
The Golden Hour
A gripping immersion into Victorian life.
Jacquie Bloese's book about double standards, women's agency, identity debates and class divides could be picked up and put down in today's world and you w... READ MORE
Denise Tyler
The Golden Hour
Historical Romance
3.5 stars rounded up. In the genteel squares of late-Victorian Brighton, Ellen and Reynold Harper - twins, companions, colleagues - ply their trade as p... READ MORE
Louise Wilson
The Golden Hour
Not what I was expecting and I really enjoyed The French House the authors previous book!
Ellen and Reynold Harper are twins, they live in Brighton, Reynold is a portrait photographer and he also takes erotic photographs that are sold under the ... READ MORE
Karren's Reading Nook
The Golden Hour
Thoroughly enjoyable
I read this book courtesy of NetGalley. A thoroughly enjoyable book set in the 1890s in Brighton. Jacquie's descriptions transport the reader to a differ... READ MORE
Grey Lady
The Golden Hour
A Thought Provoking Story
Set in late Victorian Brighton ,the story tells of twins Ellen and Reynold who own a Photographers Shop who take respectable portraits during the day but ... READ MORE
Chrissie Mortimer