The Goldfish Boy

The Goldfish Boy

Children's, New & Recommended, Age 9-12
Paperback Published on: 05/01/2017
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Goldfish Boy
OCD through a childs eyes
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review! I did enjoy this book once the mystery began to unfold. Matthew is obs... READ MORE
Layla H at Bromley
The Goldfish Boy
The Perfect Mystery
I LOVED this book. As soon as I started reading I had vivid flashbacks to the first time I read The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Nighttime. I can't s... READ MORE
Laura at Canterbury
The Goldfish Boy
Stunning Debut
Matthew is the last person to see Teddy before Teddy goes missing, can Matthew solve the mystery of the disappearance? Only one major difficulty stands in ... READ MORE
Big Bearded Bookseller

Synopsis

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely and hope when all you feel is fear.

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business.

That is, until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing.

Now Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance – with a little help from a surprising and brilliant cast of supporting characters.

Full of heart and a genuine and honest confrontation of some of the ways in which life can be hard to handle, this is a story about the courage it takes to face your fears and learn to live with them. Page-turning and heart-breaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder.

It is a book that will make you think about everything there is to discover, just waiting beyond your front door.

  • Publisher: Scholastic
  • ISBN: 9781407170992
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 280g
  • Dimensions: 195 x 129 x 25 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Goldfish Boy
"If you look carefully enough you can see beautiful things in almost anything."
This absolutely WONDERFUL book is jam-packed with beautiful things from Lisa Thompson's writing style, to the characters and the story; I can't find fault ... READ MORE
snailycanflyy
The Goldfish Boy
Goldfish Boy
DISCLAIMER: I received this copy off of Scholastic as part of their Blogger’s Book Feast. I have chosen to read it and write a review. The main theme with... READ MORE
xtheunicornwishesx
The Goldfish Boy
Amazing!
Couldn't put it down. Loved it from the start to the end!
Tj1234
The Goldfish Boy
Best book ever
I'm 13 years of age and have dislexia this is my all time favourite book I love the way the author makes Mathew look creepy and smart at the same time I lo... READ MORE
Charley Oxley
The Goldfish Boy
Something fishy is going on...
My daughter read this in every spare minute over two days...she says “I love Lisa Thompson’s writing, as it is unique. This is the first book I have read ... READ MORE
Cecilmgo
The Goldfish Boy
Humanising mental health
Librarian review: I found this to be a sensitive and thoughtful portrayal of a young lad suffering from OCD. We have completed this as a class reader for a... READ MORE
AC