The Golem and the Djinni

The Golem and the Djinni

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 01/01/2014
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Golem and the Djinni
A magical creation!
An utterly absorbing fable of old magic re-emerging at the turn of the 20th century amongst the bustling streets of migrants making their new homes in New ... READ MORE
Emma Louise Pennell at Chichester
The Golem and the Djinni
Mystical, richly characterised and a page turner.
A wonderful fantasy novel set at the start of the 20th century. In many ways reminiscent of "Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell", although this is a lighter a... READ MORE
Irfan Umar at Canary Wharf
The Golem and the Djinni
A magical creation.
An utterly absorbing fable of old magic re-emerging at the turn of the 20th century amongst the bustling streets of migrants making their new homes in New ... READ MORE
Emma Prince at Portsmouth
The Golem and the Djinni
READ THIS BOOK!!
This is an absolutely beautiful book, and a joy to read. Combining jewish folklore, with arabian nights, fantasy with history, and a light story with philo... READ MORE
Becky Bookseller

Synopsis

‘One of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human’ BARBARA KINGSOLVER For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. ‘By far my favourite book of of the year’ Guardian One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again. But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop. Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world. A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinni asks us what we’re made of and how we can break free.

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ISBN: 9780007480197
  • Number of pages: 656
  • Weight: 460g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 41 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Golem and the Djinni
Captivatingly Magical
Although set firmly in New York at the dawn of the last century, this story takes the reader back in time to the desert lands where the Djinni lived and ba... READ MORE
ernie noble
The Golem and the Djinni
Amazing plot and Characters
I completely fell in love with this book, it was brilliant. I loved Chava and Ahmad and all the other characters (which is rare). I can't wait to read th... READ MORE
Emma Picolo