The Good, The Bad and The History

The Good, The Bad and The History

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 22/06/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

BOOK 14 IN THE CHRONICLES OF ST MARY'S SERIES, FROM THE MILLION-COPY BESTSELLER JODI TAYLOR.

⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐

'Brilliant, hilarious, keeps you on your toes' Reader review
'The characters make me come back time and time again' Reader review
'I have not found another author who can tell a story involving time travel as well' Reader review

⭐ ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐

St Mary's is under investigation. Their director has been shot and Max is Number One Suspect. Can things get any worse? We all know the answer to that one.

Max needs to get away - fast - and a Brilliant Idea soon leads her to a full-scale uprising in twentieth-century China. If she can come by a historical treasure or two in the process, even better. That is, if she makes it out alive.

Then there's the small matter of Insight - the sinister organisation from the future hell bent on changing History for their own dark ends. Having successfully infiltrated their ranks, Max is perfectly placed to stop them. But she knows her cover will soon be blown - because it's already happened.

Can Max take down Insight before they come after her? The circle is closing, and only one can survive...

For fans of Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, Richard Osman's Thursday Murder Club series and Doctor Who.

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT JODI TAYLOR

'Once in a while, I discover an author who changes everything... Jodi Taylor and her protagonista Madeleine "Max" Maxwell have seduced me' READER REVIEW

'Jodi Taylor is quite simply the Queen of Time. Her books are a swashbuckling joyride through History' C. K. MCDONNELL

'This amazing series is anything but formulaic. Just when you think you've got to grips with everything, out comes the rug from under your feet' READER REVIEW

'Wonderfully imaginative' SFF WORLD

'Addictive. I wish St Mary's was real and I was a part of it' READER REVIEW

'Every page bubbles with energy' BRITISH FANTASY SOCIETY

'St Mary's stories are the much-anticipated highlight of my year' READER REVIEW

'Jodi Taylor has an imagination that gets me completely hooked' READER REVIEW

'A tour de force' READER REVIEW

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781035404933
  • Number of pages: 528
  • Weight: 360g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 42 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Good, The Bad and The History
Absolute joy as always
I said in my last review of a Jodi Taylor book that’s she’s a genius and I’m going to make the same point again: She’s a genius!! This book takes off pret... READ MORE
Philippa Horsell
The Good, The Bad and The History
Favourite book of 2023
If there is a book series that makes me laugh, loose sleep as I can’t put it down and wish I could jump through the pages to join in more than St. Mary’s I... READ MORE
Fern Adams
The Good, The Bad and The History
Fancy asking if things could get any worse!
When I got Jodi Taylor’s The Good, The Bad and The History, I discovered, to a mixture of utter astonishment and delight, that I hadn’t read the previous b... READ MORE
Colin Edwards
The Good, The Bad and The History
The Good, the Bad, and the History
Oh My Days - can this series get any better!? Honestly, I know I always say this, but you really need to start from book and and read in order. Including a... READ MORE
Ashrae
The Good, The Bad and The History
Another marvelous adventure jumping all over the timeline
Things are going as usual at St. Mary's - in other words, reeling from bad to worse and Max is popping all over the timeline. Max is the central figure in ... READ MORE
PamReviews
The Good, The Bad and The History
Another Rollercoaster ride, buckle up
A continuation of another adventure of Max and Markham always getting into trouble and trying like hell to get of it. This episode involves Insight, Time p... READ MORE
Regina Mastrogiacomo