The Home Scar

The Home Scar: From the Women’s Prize-longlisted author of Nothing But Blue Sky

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 09/02/2023
£13.99
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

"MacMahon writes with such beautiful simplicity, conjuring real and complex people straight off the page ... subtle and authentic" - Claire Fuller On opposite sides of the world, half-siblings Cassie and Christo have built their lives around work, intent on ignoring their painful past.When a dramatic storm in Galway hits the headlines, they're drawn back there to revisit a glorious childhood summer, the last before their mother died. But their journey uncovers memories of a far less happy summer - one that had tragic consequences.Confronted with the havoc their mother left in her wake, Cassie and Christo are forced to face their past and - ready or not - to deal with the messy tangle of parental love and neglect that shaped them.The Home Scar is a luminous and precise story about the inheritance of loss and the possibility of finally making peace with it. _________"Her beautifully simple style belies psychological complexity ... and her tone is wryly accepting" - Big Issue "Quiet and bleakly beautiful ... like the siblings and Ireland, it will leave a permanent mark on those who venture into its depths" - Buzz "Picks at the wounds only a mother can inflict ... ambitious ... intricate" - Sunday Independent "An exceptional novel about a brother and sister returning to the west of Ireland and to a summer of their past." - Anne Griffin, Sunday Independent "A powerful story about legacy and loss and the possibility of reconciliation" - Irish Times

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781844885992
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 340g
  • Dimensions: 215 x 135 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Home Scar
Exquisite Writing
I made no secret of how much I loved 'nothing but blue sky' by Kathleen MacMahon which I read when it was longlisted for the Women's Prize for fiction - so... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
The Home Scar
Novel set in GALWAY
I was tempted by this novel when I saw it was billed as a good read for fans of Maggie O’Farrell, Anne Tyler, Elizabeth Strout and Tessa Hadley, This is q... READ MORE
TripFiction