The Honjin Murders

The Honjin Murders

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 05/12/2019
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Honjin Murders
Japan’s Answer to Sherlock Holmes
Published in English for the first time, we finally get to read about the popular detective that has captured Japanese readers’ attention and imagination f... READ MORE
Marcy at Cardiff
The Honjin Murders
A fiendishly genius locked room mystery!
When it comes to this book, I initially wasn't grabbed. In the interests of being honest...there was a lot of waffling at the beginning about 'significant'... READ MORE
Alisha

Synopsis

In the winter of 1937, the village of Okamura is abuzz with excitement over the forthcoming wedding of a son of the grand Ichiyanagi family. But amid the gossip over the approaching festivities, there is also a worrying rumour - it seems a sinister masked man has been asking questions about the Ichiyanagis around the village. Then, on the night of the wedding, the Ichiyanagi family are woken by a terrible scream, followed by the sound of eerie music - death has come to Okamura, leaving no trace but a bloody samurai sword, thrust into the pristine snow outside the house. The murder seems impossible, but amateur detective Kosuke Kindaichi is determined to get to the bottom of it.

  • Publisher: Pushkin Press
  • ISBN: 9781782275008
  • Number of pages: 192
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Honjin Murders
An intriguing case!
We will be introduced to Detective Kindaichi. An unusual character, not what you might expect. Somehow he must search for answers and unravel this complica... READ MORE
Helena
The Honjin Murders
A fine introduction to one of the world's most loved detectives!
With Japanese fiction taking up the majority of my reading material, the prospect of diving into Seishi Yokomizo's work was tantalising. Published for the ... READ MORE
Ryan at Glasgow Sauchiehall Street
The Honjin Murders
Intriguing
Now this was a nice find. It's my first classic Japanese crime novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The writing is good. It's written like a true crime nove... READ MORE
Book collector
The Honjin Murders
Do read this book.
A delightful and delicious story.Old fashioned within an oriental world yet with basic human frailty and emotions.
Harry Light
The Honjin Murders
An exciting Poirot type reveal
An excellent Agatha Christie type murder with an impossible locked room murder in the Japanese village of Okamura. The ichiyanagi family the local rich lan... READ MORE
Charlotte  Pawson
The Honjin Murders
Murder Most Subtle
A locked room mystery almost impossible to solve with a gentle detective as unique as the motive. If you enjoy the British Library crime classics then thi... READ MORE
Sarah Blurton
The Honjin Murders
The Honjin Murders
Good plot but some inexplicable leaps of deduction. tricky to keep track of all the names but a good read.
Peter Derrington
The Honjin Murders
The locked room...
A curious tale of a double murder within a locked room, the tale further complicated by the culture and precedents that echo from an earlier feudal Japan. ... READ MORE
18 Towngate Shopping Centre BH15 1ER
The Honjin Murders
This story is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie etc.
I received an ARC of 'The Honjin Murders' (translated) from Pushkin Vertigo via Netgalley in return for an honest review. I've heard of this classic murde... READ MORE
Maria's Book Musings
The Honjin Murders
Impressive Read
Thank you to the publishers for this review copy. A Japanese closed room murder, just had to be intrigued by it. My verdict: a very impressive read which I... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
The Honjin Murders
Amazing
Well written and interesting story arc
Carl Heffernan
The Honjin Murders
Ingenious Japanese locked room mystery
It is 23 November 1937. A dusty and dirty man, dressed in worn clothes, with three fingers on one hand and his face covered by a mask, calls in a tavern... READ MORE
IReadThereforeIBlog
The Honjin Murders
Tedious
Not sure how a murder mystery can be bland, but the author somehow pulls it off! You are just spoon fed overly technical details the entire time, only to r... READ MORE
Emily Hardy