The Invisible Library

The Invisible Library

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 15/01/2015
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Invisible Library
Fantastic Fantasy
The invisible Library is a brilliant read, blending the iconic ideas of both fantasy and science fiction, the invisible library brings multiple worlds aliv... READ MORE
Jwoods
The Invisible Library
Wonderful fantasy adventure!
This was a lot of fun to read - a mash up of spy librarians, mysterious apprentices, sherlock holmesian detective work and madcap steampunk! I'm looking fo... READ MORE
Kirsty Mordaunt at Lincoln High St
The Invisible Library
Ok
This was recommended to me by a friend and it sounded really good and had such an unusual plot that made me think that I would absolutely love this book. U... READ MORE
Dani
The Invisible Library
Witty and clever fantasy adventure
The premise of The Invisible Library is brilliant. Clandestinely situated between dimensions – and yes, invisible – the Library is a vast repository of fic... READ MORE
Lucy Hounsom at Exeter
The Invisible Library
Invisible Library
Just a great, slightly steampunky adventure story. Took a while to get into it as it felt like a teen read, but it got better. Hope there's a sequel (or ... READ MORE
Liza at Basingstoke
The Invisible Library
For the love of rare books
Who would think finding a lost edition of Grimm’s fairy tales would be so difficult, but throw in an alternative world, a vampire, the Fae, cybernetic alli... READ MORE
Sharon at Maidstone
The Invisible Library
A book lovers book
A great first in the series that is packed with adventure, twists and turns.
Sarah in Wolverhampton

Synopsis

One spy. One dangerous book. One deadly mission. Discover the first book in this gripping fantasy mystery series – The Invisible Library is the astounding debut from bestselling author Genevieve Cogman.

Perfect for fans of Mr Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan, Jasper Fforde's The Eyre Affair or Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London.

'I absolutely loved this' – N.K. Jemisin, author of The Fifth Season

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, whose staff are sent to different realities to harvest dangerous and mystical fiction.

Irene has been posted to an alternative steampunk London along with her enigmatic new assistant, Kai. Their mission: to retrieve a dangerous edition of Grimms' Fairy Tales. But it has already been stolen.

In London's underground, the laws of nature have been bent – supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic stalk the land. The city is home to vampires, werewolves – factions that are all prepared to fight to the death for this book.

Irene must face a web of deadly danger, deception and secret societies. Her new assistant is hiding secrets of his own. Yet failure is not an option – the nature of reality itself is at stake . . .

Continue the journey with the adventurous second title in the Invisible Library series, The Masked City.

Praise for the series:

'I absolutely loved this' – N. K. Jemisin, author of The Fifth Season

'Irene is a great heroine: fiery, resourceful and no one's fool' – The Guardian

'Cogman keeps upping the ante on this delightful series!' – Charles Stross, author of the Merchant Princes series

  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 9781447256236
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 238g
  • Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 23 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Invisible Library
One of my favourite heroines ever
This book is such great fun! Inter-dimensional Library spies with magic, betrayal, detectives, zeppelins and alligators – what’s not to love?! I am so here... READ MORE
RenG
The Invisible Library
The voice of reason
I find myself in the unwanted position of having to write a pretty much entirely negative review. I like many readers I'm sure find myself looking for new... READ MORE
Helen1510
The Invisible Library
A Series Rich in Worldbuilding
Using the multi-worlds theory, Genevieve Cogman creates a rich universe reminiscent of the Potterverse. The mysterious Library resides somewhere between ... READ MORE
Fiona Rix
The Invisible Library
Too much in one book!
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman is the first book in The Invisible Library series. Irene (not her real name) works for the Library. The Library... READ MORE
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader
The Invisible Library
Loved it
This story was a lot of fun. It begins right in the middle of the action, with Irene on a mission to get a book for the Library. It took a while for me to ... READ MORE
Jill Jemmett
The Invisible Library
Great mix of fantasy with a steam punk feel
This is a book I couldn’t put down! I spent many nights avoiding sleep so I could continue reading. The premise of this book is amazing and isn’t something... READ MORE
Ki
The Invisible Library
Great start of an even better series
The invisable library books make the perfect mix of being funny and thrilling. It is a thrilling blend of Sherlock Holmes, fairytales and sci-fi. A suprisi... READ MORE
Lieselotte Goessens
The Invisible Library
I loved this book. Libraries, books, magic and other worlds, it's got everything, even dragons!
I loved this book. Libraries, books, magic and other worlds, it's got everything, even dragons! Irene works for the Invisible Library, but it's more than j... READ MORE
Sabrina Accalai