The Jasad Heir

The Jasad Heir

Science Fiction & Fantasy
Hardback Published on: 20/07/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Jasad Heir
A fantastic and unforgettable debut you won’t want to miss!
Ten years ago Jasad was burned to the ground, the royal family murdered and the only remnant left is Sylvia. She is the last heir who isn’t supposed to exi... READ MORE
Cody At Liverpool

Synopsis

In a world of forbidden magic and cunning royals, a fugitive queen bargains with her kingdom's greatest enemy and is soon embroiled in a deadly game that could resurrect her scorched kingdom, or leave it in ashes forever. A stunning enemies-to-lovers fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Fourth Wing and The Jasmine Throne. At ten years old, the Heir of Jasad flees a massacre that takes her entire family. At fifteen, she buries her first body. At twenty, the clock is ticking on Sylvia's third attempt at home. Nizahl's armies have laid waste to Jasad and banned magic across the four remaining kingdoms. Fortunately, Sylvia's magic is as good at playing dead as she is. When the Nizahl Heir tracks a group of Jasadis to Sylvia's village, the quiet life she's crafted unravels. Calculating and cold, Arin's tactical brilliance is surpassed only by his hatred for magic. When a mistake exposes Sylvia's magic, Arin offers her an escape: compete as Nizahl's Champion in the Alcalah tournament and win immunity from persecution. In exchange, Arin will use her as bait to draw out the Jasadis he's hunting. To win the deadly Alcalah, Sylvia must work with Arin to free her trapped magic, all while staying a step ahead of his efforts to uncover her identity. But as the two grow closer, Sylvia realizes winning her freedom as Nizahl's Champion means destroying any chance of reuniting Jasad under her banner. The scorched kingdom is rising again, and Sylvia will have to choose between the life she's earned and the one she left behind.

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356521862
  • Number of pages: 496
  • Weight: 740g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 46 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Jasad Heir
Books that speak to my soul? This is one of them
“What appeal can reason have in the face of your tears?” I have been waiting for this book for a year and around four months at least. I've been so exited... READ MORE
Milica S.
The Jasad Heir
Great writing with an intriguing story!
4,25/5 Shoutout to whoever is responsible for the cover. 10/10. The first moment I got hooked was about midway through chapter 2, when Sylvia did a thing... READ MORE
Anna
The Jasad Heir
Amazing
Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for letting me review this book in advance of it being published. This was a very interesting read from the start... READ MORE
Harriet Foster
The Jasad Heir
A brilliant debut novel i could not put down!
Ten years ago Jasad was brutally burnt down, its royal family killed and its people in hiding. Sylvia is the surviving heir and has been in hiding ever sin... READ MORE
Nicola Stephenson
The Jasad Heir
Magic, heir in hiding, an original fantasy world, strong fighting female lead and a bunch of fun and games.
When I first saw the announcement for Orbit acquiring this to be published I instantly knew I had to read it. Magic, heir in hiding, an original fantasy wo... READ MORE
NoxWitchBookLife
The Jasad Heir
Brilliant debut!
What a brilliant debut! In the Jasad heir we are introduced to Sylvia, previously known as Essiya, the Jasad heir. When she was 10 years old, she witnes... READ MORE
Ana Bastos
The Jasad Heir
A lot of triggers
Thank you to NetGalley and Little Brown Book Group for the advance reader copy. TW: race discrimination, sexual harassment, references of sexual assault... READ MORE
Shanice Venture
The Jasad Heir
Fantastic Arabian inspired fantasy
Magic is the lifeblood of this world. It is the very thing that I would say sustains life. Yet, there are those who would hate it, be envious of it, and op... READ MORE
Neil Sharma
The Jasad Heir
An Intriguing Start to a New Fantasy
Thank you to NetGalley and the Publisher for an arc in exchange for an honest review. For a debut novel this was really good. The world building was impre... READ MORE
Clara
The Jasad Heir
GET THIS BOOK
I will not give anything away but I am currently sat sobbing my heart out after finishing this book . This is one of the best books I have ever read the pl... READ MORE
Sylvia Garden
The Jasad Heir
Intriguing premise, poor execution.
Sadly, this was a DNF for me. I loved the premise; the sole surviving heir of an obliterated kingdom hides in plain sight amongst those who would see her... READ MORE
Grace