The Killing Room

The Killing Room

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 17/11/2016
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop


The American has come to celebrate a union spanning continents, a powerful conjoining of East and West. But all the money in the world cannot protect him from the horrors that are only minutes away.


When a mass grave containing eighteen mutilated female corpses is discovered in Shanghai, detective Li Yan is sent from Beijing to establish if the bodies are linked to an unsolved murder in the capital. Here, Li will be working with Mei Ling, deputy head of Shanghai's serious crime squad.


Mei Ling is a formidable woman: a fact that is not lost on Li's on-off lover, forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell. But when Campbell, vulnerable and still grieving the loss of her father, learns that the victims were subjected to 'live' autopsies, she knows the case is bigger than her pride.


Li, Campbell and Mei Ling are now entering the arena of a sickening nemesis, and opening a door behind which lies each of their very worst nightmares.

The Killing Room is the third in award-winning crime writer Peter May’s ‘China Thrillers’ series which began with The Firemaker and Fourth Sacrifice. Peter May has travelled extensively across China, gaining unprecedented access to homicide and forensic departments of the Beijing and Shaghai police forces to create this series of meticulously researched and often controversial thrillers which has at its heart the tempestuous relationship between Chinese detective Li Yan and Dr Margaret Campbell, an acerbic pathologist from Chigaco.

‘a gripping page-turner that combines edge-of-the-seat suspense with a fascinating picture of modern China… as gruesomely detailed as anything Patricia Cornwell or Kathy Reichs describe’ - Irish Independent

Described by Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon as an ‘outstanding example of Scotland's rich literary talent’, Peter May was already one of Scotland’s most prolific television dramatists when he embarked on a career as a novelist. Beginning with his series of ‘China Thrillers’ he has gone on to write the cold-case ‘Enzo Files’ (set in France, where the author now lives) and his bestselling ‘Lewis Trilogy’, set in the Hebrides as well as various acclaimed stand-alone novels, including Entry Island.

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781784291686
  • Number of pages: 496
  • Weight: 336g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 131 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Killing Room
This is the 3rd in the China series by Peter May & like the two preceding it, I did not want to put it down. However, from time to time I had to if only to... READ MORE