The Last Line

The Last Line: A gripping WWII noir thriller for fans of Lee Child and Robert Harris

Hardback Published on: 16/11/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Last Line
Top drawer Wartime Thriller
I loved it! The Jack Reacher comparisons are spot on; John Cook is confident, cocky, well-trained and lethal...and this noir thriller gives him a wonderful... READ MORE
Chris Bedford

Synopsis

'John Cook is the Jack Reacher of 1940's Britain' - Damien Lewis ***** May 1940. With Nazi forces sweeping across France, invasion seems imminent. The English Channel has never felt so narrow. In rural Sussex, war veteran John Cook has been tasked with preparing the resistance effort, should the worst happen. But even as the foreign threat looms, it's rumours of a missing child that are troubling Cook. A twelve-year-old girl was evacuated from London and never seen again, and she's just the tip of the iceberg - countless evacuees haven't made it to their host families. As Cook investigates, he uncovers a dark conspiracy that reaches to the highest ranks of society. He will do whatever it takes to make the culprits pay. There are some lines you just don't cross. THE LAST LINE is a blistering action thriller combined with a smart noir mystery, played out expertly against the taut backdrop of the British home front. ***** 'A brilliant noir thriller set in the darkest days of the Second World War' - Stephen Leather 'A vivid sense of place with tension on every level, The Last Line dripped with historical detail and authenticity. I absolutely loved it!' - Marion Todd READERS LOVE THE LAST LINE: 'This is an excellent debut novel with a gripping storyline' - 5* NetGalley Review 'This is a first class 5 star read that is a cleverly written compelling, captivating historical crime thriller that I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys an unputdownable thrilling read' - 5* NetGalley Review 'Stephen has a way of describing his characters so tremendously that you really fall in love with them. John, Margaret and Doc for me are just the most incredible characters' - 5* NetGalley Review 'A superb novel which I thoroughly enjoyed' - 5* NetGalley Review 'If you like Lee Child then you will like this book. It has all the familiar hallmarks . . . vivid writing, well crafted characters, excellent plot and a crusading Superman with definite ideas about right and wrong and meting out his version of justice' - 5* NetGalley Review

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781399721233
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 540g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Last Line
Brilliant Debut WW2 Crime Thriller
As my followers know, I’m heavily into World War Two novels and when I saw the blurb for The Last Line, I was immediately interested. The Last Line is a... READ MORE
Judith Wright
The Last Line
A cracking read!
First World War veteran John Cook has been tasked with establishing the resistance effort where he farms in the Sussex countryside. The Nazis have been adv... READ MORE
Barnsey's Books
The Last Line
Outstanding
Whenever I read a debut novel I do so with a little trepidation about what to expect, however, I do have a strong love for books set during both WW1 and WW... READ MORE
Andy  wormald
The Last Line
Fab Read!
Thank you to Stephen Ronson, NetGalley and Hodder & Stoughton for my approval to read and review book. I don't read a lot of historical crime fiction bu... READ MORE
Sarah Dougan-Blackburn
The Last Line
Authentic period feel
An excellent read, this feels like a WWII Jack Reacher book, but in a really good way. John Cook is an ex soldier, now running a farm in 1940, too old to e... READ MORE
Gee Wood
The Last Line
Gripping
It’s 1940 and, while the war is raging in Europe and England is preparing for a possible Nazi invasion, something darker and unexpected is going on in a vi... READ MORE
Noemi Proietti
The Last Line
Great story
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is set at the start of WW 2. I found it fast moving and well researched. We all have family members who has been through... READ MORE
S Bi
The Last Line
Brilliant
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is set at the start of WW 2. I found it fast moving and well researched. We all have family members who has been through... READ MORE
S Bi
The Last Line
Historical War Story.
May 1940: With Nazi forces sweeping across France, invasion seems imminent. The English Channel has never felt so narrow. In rural Sussex, war veteran John... READ MORE
Louise Wilson
The Last Line
A gripping thriller
While veteran John Cook is preparing against invasion in the English countryside, he discovers a mystery surrounding a missing evacuee child and strives to... READ MORE
Katherine
The Last Line
A terrific read
At the centre of The Last Line, an historical thriller, is John Cook. He served in the First World War and went on to fight in Afghanistan. Now he is back ... READ MORE
Mary Picken
The Last Line
Enjoyable Step Outside My Comfort Zone
I'm really glad that Stephen reached out to ask me to read and review his book. Without that request, I would have probably overlooked it - war-time histor... READ MORE
Kerry Young
The Last Line
A great book with great characters
I love reading historical fiction, particularly anything which revolves around World War II, and this was no exception. Set in a small town in Sussex, clos... READ MORE
Sam's_Fireside
The Last Line
Top debut
I can barely believe this is a debut novel. I'm a huge fan of WW2 fiction and this is really top draw, it has everything; lots of action, romance, intrigue... READ MORE
Debbie Hall