The Last Line

The Last Line

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 23/05/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'Thrilling WWII set thriller that has heart-pounding action, but more importantly, a lot of heart... Completely gripping... A narrative that is as taut as piano wire! ...Not to be missed if you enjoy action-packed historical thrillers' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

May 1940: With Nazi forces sweeping across France, invasion seems imminent. The English Channel has never felt so narrow.

In rural Sussex, war veteran John Cook has been tasked with preparing the resistance effort, should the worst happen.

But even as the foreign threat looms, it's rumours of a missing child that are troubling Cook. A twelve-year-old girl was evacuated from London and never seen again, and she's just the tip of the iceberg - countless evacuees haven't made it to their host families.

As Cook investigates, he uncovers a dark conspiracy that reaches to the highest ranks of society. He will do whatever it takes to make the culprits pay. There are some lines you just don't cross.

A completely gripping and unputdownable WWII thriller, perfect for fans of Rory Clements, Simon Scarrow and Kate Quinn.

Everyone is gripped by The Last Line:

'My God, this was great. It left me with a book hangover.I felt like I was there in 1940s England... I learned so much from this book... The writing is really 3D. You really feel like you're there. It's very immersive, and I love the witty humour. John Cook is a wonderful character' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I felt like I was right in the action, helping to solve the murder and kidnapping... So full of action, suspense and thrills that it became a quick read and also an enjoyable one. The gunfight had me onthe edge of my seat at times, it was suspenseful, you couldn't tell who was going to make it out alive' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'What a fantastic read! Set during WWII, packed with action, history and wonderful characters, this is a must read for historical thriller enthusiasts but for those that like a good thriller as well!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'One of the most unputdownable books I have read this year!... Fast paced mystery/thriller which caught me up in the narrative... I just didn't want to put this down!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'John Cook is the Jack Reacher of 1940's Britain' Damien Lewis

'Breathtakingly tense action scenes and taut, intricately plotted storyline... A gripping, vividly atmospheric historical thriller' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Packed with action, superb characters and a real feel for the time and place for the setting... everything you would want from an intelligent war-time thriller' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A brilliant noir thriller set in the darkest days of the Second World War' Stephen Leather

'This is an absolute ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ read, great characters, great plot, gripping from start to finish... Once you start this you won't be able to stop' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wham, bam, lots of action man!... Deftly plotted with plenty of historical detail to keep the reader hooked. Superbly entertaining wartime thriller' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'This is one book that I didn't want to finish as it's full of plot twists and turns, red herrings, and a roller-coaster of a read!!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A vivid sense of place with tension on every level... Dripped with historical detail and authenticity. I absolutely loved it!' Marion Todd

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781399721271
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 240g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews