The Mysterious Mrs Hood

The Mysterious Mrs Hood

Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 22/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'A gripping story of a cold-blooded murder... This is true crime at its best' Wendy Moore 'A true crime thriller that pulls you in, with drama so addictive it should be illegal' Sam Christer A true Victorian murder mystery...Great Yarmouth, September 1900: A young woman is found dead on the beach, a bootlace tied tightly around her neck. Despite her death attracting national attention in the press, nobody claims her. Detective Inspector Robert Lingwood of the Great Yarmouth police force declares he will not rest until the mystery of the young woman's death is solved. But it's only once the case has been referred to Scotland Yard that the layers of mystery start to peel away...'Mrs Hood' was in fact Mary Jane Bennett, and this is her story.Following clues and tracking red herrings leads the police to close in on their one and only suspect. With arson, fraud, an affair and a sensation-hungry press, the murder gripped the nation in one of the most eagerly anticipated trials of the early twentieth century. Author Kim Donovan finally tells her great-great-aunt's story and the truth of evil duplicity in Victorian England.'As atmospheric and absorbing as any murder mystery... A combination of your favourite whodunnit and your favourite true crime podcast. A real triumph!' Books by Your Bedside blog*A fascinating historical true crime case perfect for fans of The Suspicions of Mr Whicher and The Five*

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781399615389
  • Number of pages: 288
  • Weight: 260g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Mysterious Mrs Hood
"A true Victorian murder mystery"
An amazing, well-researched and analysed account of the murder of the mysterious Mrs Hood in late 19th Century Yarmouth, Kim Donovan guides us through the ... READ MORE
Megan Rose
The Mysterious Mrs Hood
Intriguing tale of a true crime case from 1900
Early one September morning in Great Yarmouth, England 1900, the body of a young woman is found on the beach. The bootlace around her neck & bloodstains on... READ MORE
OutsmartYourShelf
The Mysterious Mrs Hood
Anatomy of a scandal
At the turn of the twentieth century a young woman is found dead on the beach at Yarmouth. She is finally identified as 'Mrs Hood' who was staying at a lo... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson