The New York Trilogy

The New York Trilogy

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 02/06/2011
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The New York Trilogy
The New York Trilogy
This is what I call fiction at its finest, plenty of substance and class within, aided by Auster's intelligence and beauty as a writer. I like a book with ... READ MORE
Hannah Mulligan Ward at Woking

Synopsis

The contemporary classic from 'our supreme post-modernist' (Ian McEwan) - expanding the possibilities of the noir detective novel - whose writing 'shines with intelligence and originality' (Don DeLillo)

The New York Trilogy is the most astonishing work by America's most consistently astonishing writer: three interconnected novels that exploit the riveting elements of classic detective fiction to achieve a radical new genre - a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The result is the modern novel at its finest which will shock, transfix and astound every reader.

'Marks a new departure for the American novel.'Observer

'A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.'Sunday Telegraph

'One of the great American prose stylists of our time.' New York Times

'Auster really does possess the wand of the enchanter.'New York Review of Books

  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • ISBN: 9780571276653
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Weight: 260g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 19 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The New York Trilogy
The New York Trilogy
I found this an absolutely terrible read, the stories were so mind numbingly boring that they almost put me off reading altogether. At the end of the book ... READ MORE
Michael Russell