The Queen From Provence

The Queen From Provence

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 07/02/2008
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

The public pay a price for personal excess in this captivating and dramatic historical novel by multi-million copy and international bestselling author Jean Plaidy. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

'It's hard to better Jean Plaidy ... both elegant and exciting as she steers a stylish path through the feuding Plantaganets' -- Daily Mirror
'Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama' -- New York Times
'Full-blooded, dramatic, exciting' -- Observer
'Fascinating' -- ***** Reader review
'Couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'Grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go' -- ***** Reader review
'Another first class read from Ms. Plaidy!' -- ***** Reader review
**********************************************************************************************************
Marguerite, eldest daughter of the Count of Provence, had married a king of France - and now her sister Eleanor is determined to make just as grand a match.

Good fortune and wily cunning bring her Henry of England. A good and generous husband but a weak king, he rules a nation that still remembers his cruel and foolish father, King John. As Henry showers gifts on his new bride, his extravagance forces him to levy ever greater taxation on the land, and the spectre of revolt soon looms against him.

For Simon de Montfort, the adventurer who will give England its first true parliament, the house of destiny is at hand...

  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • ISBN: 9780099510277
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 277g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews