The Right to Rule

The Right to Rule: Thirteen Years, Five Prime Ministers and the Implosion of the Tories

British Politics
Hardback Published on: 28/09/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop


The explosive full story of the past dozen years of Tory rule, from coalition to self-destruction. Over the last decade, the British people have seen five different Conservative Prime Ministers, with five different missions and five messages to the nation. From the ashes of a financial crisis, to a break from the EU, to a global pandemic, governments - and ideologies - have changed, but Tory power has clung on. Merciless rebellion and the swift ousting of leaders have enabled this, and yet the same ruthlessness may ultimately bring about their downfall. Witty, hair-raising and brilliantly sourced, The Right to Rule links as never before stories of betrayal in Cameron's Coalition, the rifts behind the Referendum, the travails of May, the chaos of the pandemic, the sagas of Johnson, the Truss implosion and the Sunak patch-job. Through his unique access and unmissable inside stories, acclaimed Westminster journalist Ben Riley-Smith's explosive account is essential for anyone wondering how the Tories kept changing, kept revolting - and kept winning. This is the entertaining and dramatic account of our times, for anyone wondering how Britain got into this state.

  • Publisher: John Murray Press
  • ISBN: 9781399810296
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 702g
  • Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 44 mm

Customer Reviews