The Ruin

The Ruin

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 06/09/2018
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID 'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES 'Beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL*****February 1993On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. March 2013Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? This powerful debut will draw you into the dark heart of Ireland and ask who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner.*****Praise for THE RUIN:'Brilliantly crafted . . . an absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy . . . as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR'As convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE'There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me!' ALEX GRAY'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE 'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780751569315
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 274g
  • Dimensions: 201 x 127 x 25 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Ruin
Great read
If you enjoy police procedural novels, you should read this. If you enjoy a good mystery, you should read this. If you enjoy a book with likeable, believa... READ MORE
@SezzThomas
The Ruin
Crime fiction at its best
I requested this book because I saw it was recommended by Val McDermid, so I wasn't surprised to find it a well-plotted, multi-layered read with well-round... READ MORE
Dana Farren
The Ruin
A great start to a series
When Garda Cormac Reilly was a green young man in Galway he was called to decrepit house to find two half starved neglected children and the dead body of t... READ MORE
Maggie Macdonald
The Ruin
Great characters, a heart–stopping and sometimes heart-breaking read.
Rúin is old Irish for secret, and this is a book full of secrets. Our protagonist is Cormac Reilly, a D.I. in the Gardaí. Cormac has been stationed in Dub... READ MORE
Mary Picken
The Ruin
Captivating
Found this book compelling, full of twists and turns, that keep you gripped Looking forward to more cases from. Cormac Reilly. Thank you netgalley, the pu... READ MORE
Sarah Lerigo
The Ruin
Crime mystery set in GALWAY
In Irish, Ruín means something hidden, a mystery or secret, but the word has a long history as a term of endearment…. 1993 and Cormac Reilly is a fledglin... READ MORE
TripFiction
The Ruin
A cracking start to a new detective series
This is the first book in the DI Cormac Reilly series. I’ve read so many detective series over the years that some of them just blend into one. However t... READ MORE
Leona OMahony
The Ruin
Love this series
Excellent birthday gift! Ok, so I read book 2 first... but I have quickly returned to the start with book 1, this is an author I have stumbled upon quite b... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp