The Silence of the Sea

The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 26/03/2015
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD
A Sunday Times '100 best crime novels and thrillers since 1945' pick!

The most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.'

A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?

Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781444734485
  • Number of pages: 400
  • Weight: 283g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 157 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Silence of the Sea
I loved it and urge you all to visit Sigurðardóttir’s Iceland
A fab read, intelligently written and well paced. A cracker. A luxury yacht sets sail from Lisbon with three crew members and a family of four on board. I... READ MORE
@Gavin_Dimmock