The Silent Patient

The Silent Patient

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 07/02/2019
Not available
This product is currently unavailable
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Silent Patient
A tense and gripping psychological thriller
This is a brilliant, gripping, and twisty journey of a psychological thriller, and I enjoyed every moment of it. It does start off a little slow as it sets... READ MORE
Emma at Waterstones Aberystwyth
The Silent Patient
Clever and unique
This is such a clever, intriguing thriller that I was gripped from the very first page. I was immediately drawn to the characters, and I never saw the endi... READ MORE
Helen at Scarborough
The Silent Patient
Definite page turner!
As there are already a lot of review I will keep this short and sweet. I Loved it! There were so many twists and turns in the plot that it kept me guessin... READ MORE
Kirsty@Scarborough
The Silent Patient
Intense and gripping
If you enjoy a good psychological thriller then you will love this! I couldn’t put it down, I was completely drawn in by this story line. Although I couldn... READ MORE
Emma Smith at Bedford

Synopsis

Alicia: Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet - and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can't bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain. Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word. Theo:  Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia's silence goes far deeper than he first thought. And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth? The Silent Patient is the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 - perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn, Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh and The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney. 

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781409181613
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 560g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 154 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Silent Patient
A brilliant debut
Thanks to NetGalley and Orion Publishing Group for the ARC of The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides. Alicia Berenson, renowned artist, deeply loves her h... READ MORE
RJ
The Silent Patient
Highly recommended
Absolutely thrilling. Totally amazing Completely hooked Had no idea how the story was going to unfold,. It as so many twists and turns you just won't see ... READ MORE
Sarah Lerigo
The Silent Patient
Murdering Her Husband
The front piece of this novel indicates that it is the author's first book. It certainly indicates a promising future for Mr Michaelides as the theme chos... READ MORE
Paul Lane
The Silent Patient
An origin and intelligent thriller
Alex Michaelides has a background in writing scripts for films, but The Silent Patient is his first novel. The book is narrated by Theo, a psychotherapist... READ MORE
Juliet Butler
The Silent Patient
Fast read with a good twist.
This is a fast read tale about a pschotherapist, who seemingly becames obsessed with his patient - a woman who has not spoken since the murder of her husba... READ MORE
Sue Thomas
The Silent Patient
A cracking debut
Okay, so this book is all over Twitter and elsewhere, leaving a host of swooning and excited reviewers in its wake. Normally, having been scarred by two bo... READ MORE
Raven88
The Silent Patient
A gripping psychological thriller with a dramatic twist
This is a story of understanding reached by breaking through a barrier of silence. Psychotherapist Theo Faber is trying to understand his mute patient and ... READ MORE
Jenny Hill
The Silent Patient
Outstanding Psychological Thriller
My thanks to the Orion Publishing Group for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Silent Patient’, a psychological thriller set primarily in London. While many nov... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
The Silent Patient
A joy to read
When Alicia’s husband is found tied up next to her shot 5 times at point blank she is sentenced for his murder. But she hasn’t spoken a word since that day... READ MORE
KindigBlog
The Silent Patient
Not really one for me.
Beautiful talented Alicia seemed to have it all. She was a successful artist married to Gabriel, a well known photographer. So why did she shoot him five ... READ MORE
Maggie Macdonald
The Silent Patient
A gripping psychological mystery
If you are looking for a chilling and gripping psychological mystery which has that unputdownable quality which readers of this genre are always seeking th... READ MORE
George1st
The Silent Patient
The Silent Patient
The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides is a 4.5 star read. Alicia Berenson was 33 years old when she killed her husband of 7 years, 6 years later and she ... READ MORE
Nicola McWilliams
The Silent Patient
An excellent storyline and really good read
This is such a good read. For anyone who enjoys an intricate, well constructed thriller and who also has an interest in psychology, this is for you. It’s ... READ MORE
Sharon Adair
The Silent Patient
Good Twist!
Firstly, thank you to the publishers for this early review copy! As promised I moved it straight to the top of the pile when it arrived... An excellent twi... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
The Silent Patient
Very Clever Book
The Silent Patient is a very slow burning psychological thriller .It took me a long time to really get into the story but when I did wow ! The story very c... READ MORE
Chrissie Mortimer
The Silent Patient
A twist to die for....
Wow, I really didn’t see that twist coming...I gobbled this up in a couple of days whilst away from home. Highly recommended thriller, which I can see bei... READ MORE
Suzanne Ellison
The Silent Patient
Incredible Psychological Thriller
Thank you to NetGalley and publisher for the ARC. This book is an incredible psychological thriller. Cleverly and deviously written - I have never before ... READ MORE
Hazel.M
The Silent Patient
A must read!
WOW! I have just finished this book and it was fantastic, a real page turner. I was gripped from the first page. The storyline is excellent with lots of tw... READ MORE
DAWN
The Silent Patient
Chilling!
Thanks to Orion Books for the review copy. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides is a exciting thriller with an ending that's impossible to guess. The boo... READ MORE
Daniel Moran
The Silent Patient
Wow!
Thank you Netgallery #silentpatient #alexmicaelides #orion for allowing me to review this book. I can't believe what I've just read! I had to go back and r... READ MORE
Samantha Owen
The Silent Patient
The Silent Patient
Well, this book definitely deserves a praise, it was a gripping and twisted psychological thriller with a very satisfying ending as well. I liked the con... READ MORE
Dabarai
The Silent Patient
Brilliantly Clever Thriller!
Wow this is such a clever story and one that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I don’t read many thrillers these days, partly because I’m a bit of a scaredy ca... READ MORE
Nicki M
The Silent Patient
Incredible book!
This book was out of this world amazing. I was utterly engrossed in the mystery and never saw the twist coming. It was more than a twist it was a snow glob... READ MORE
Rachel Garner
The Silent Patient
Brilliant
I love the name Alicia as it takes me back to my earliest reading as a child of Enid Blyton's Mallory Towers series, So Mr Michaelides has already scored p... READ MORE
Melanie Lewis
The Silent Patient
Refreshing read!
The Silent Patient was refreshingly different. It wasn’t what I expected at all, but in a good way. You think you know what will happen, but you’ll be wro... READ MORE
Antonia Kenyeres
The Silent Patient
Outstanding
I just finished The Silent Patient and now I understand all the hype. Yes, the hype is deserved! When psychotherapist Theo Faber is offered a job at a psy... READ MORE
Nadia Mac
The Silent Patient
Such a Clever plot!!
Absolutely fabulous - lived up to every word of the advance hype. A psychotherapist who has become obsessed with the silence of a high profile murderess g... READ MORE
Helen
The Silent Patient
An interesting mystery/thriller
I was sent a copy of The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides to read and review by NetGalley. This is an interesting mystery/thriller with its basis within ... READ MORE
lesleys
The Silent Patient
Excellent read
Now this was very, very clever and I could not put it down. It was gripping and absorbing. Alicia Berenson, a successful artist, shoots and kills her husba... READ MORE
MoziDogReads
The Silent Patient
MIND BLOWING
I have to say that it is rare for a psychological thriller to truly shock and awe me with the twists they throw out, but The Silent Patient legitimately bl... READ MORE
Candice Sawchuk
The Silent Patient
I loved this book!
This book is told from 2 separate points of view. The first being that of psychotherapist Theo Faber and the second being that of the diary/journal  entrie... READ MORE
Sharon Maynard
The Silent Patient
Psychological thriller at its best
I have just finished this debut novel and I can't wait to read Alex Michaelides next book!! It was well written with well-drawn flawed characters which are... READ MORE
Dana Farren
The Silent Patient
Wow!
This is a slow burning crime thriller and it took me a little while to get into the story but when I did, WOW it was worth it. The writing style is fanta... READ MORE
Mikey
The Silent Patient
Truly unexpected twists!
The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides is the most gripping psychological thriller I’ve read this year! You will NOT see the twists coming – it is that uni... READ MORE
Eloise Robbertze
The Silent Patient
Well worth the hype...
“As you will see, it’s an incredible story - of that there is no doubt. Whether you believe it or not is up to you.” Theo Faber is a psychotherapist who d... READ MORE
Alan Taylor
The Silent Patient
A gripping psychological thriller with a dramatic twist
This is a story of understanding reached by breaking through a barrier of silence. Psychotherapist Theo Faber is trying to understand his mute patient and ... READ MORE
Jenny Hill
The Silent Patient
Great plot twist - a good read
Alicia Berenson is a successful artist living happily with her fashion photographer husband. After 7 years of marriage she kills her husband, and then neve... READ MORE
GL
The Silent Patient
A thrilling debut that left me speechless
The problem with a book release as hyped as ''The Silent Patient'' currently is, is that there is the risk that it does not live up to the title of 'the 20... READ MORE
Rachel Bridgeman
The Silent Patient
It’s a gripping tale of murder, madness and obsession – prepare to be surprised.
This is a book that’s garnering a lot of pre-publication praise and I can see why. It’s a story that grabs you from the beginning and draws you in. It has ... READ MORE
JillD
The Silent Patient
Powerful psychological thriller that delivers
My thanks to the Orion Publishing Group for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Silent Patient’, a psychological thriller set primarily in London in exchange for... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
The Silent Patient
Wow !
Gosh what a debut novel ! I did not see that coming - the twist at the end. This was a compelling read, a real page turner. I will look forward to future n... READ MORE
Milton of Campsie  Annie
The Silent Patient
A solid thriller
After seeing so much hype around this, I was PRAYING that it was justified rather than falling prey to the ever present overhype monster that all bookworms... READ MORE
thosedarkpages