The Smoke Thieves

The Smoke Thieves

Children's, New & Recommended, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 03/05/2018
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Smoke Thieves
Fantastic page turner!
I loved Sally Green's Half Bad trilogy, so imagine my excitement when an advance reading copy of 'The Smoke Thieves' appeared in my store. I am pleased to... READ MORE
Katherine at Kingston
The Smoke Thieves
Cleverly linked character arcs, looking forward to where they'll go next.
Though the characters in this book each have their own distinct paths, they are all trying to make the best of a bad situation. Everyone is changing, wheth... READ MORE
Katy@Aylesbury
The Smoke Thieves
Excellent YA fantasy!
Sally Green has proved yet again that she is a force to be reckoned with, moving on from the black and white witches of the Half Bad trilogy she dips a ver... READ MORE
Emma Prince at Portsmouth
The Smoke Thieves
Up in Smoke
The Smoke Thieves is the first in a new series by Sally Green, the tone is quite low-fantasy throughout, more an adventure but with demons and demon smoke ... READ MORE
Big Bearded Bookseller

Synopsis

**The first book in the new fantasy series from the author of Half Bad**This is the perfect story for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor. -------------A princess, a traitor, a soldier, a hunter and a thief. Five teenagers with the fate of the world in their hands. Five nations destined for conflict.In Brigant, Princess Catherine prepares for a political marriage arranged by her brutal and ambitious father, while her true love, Ambrose, faces the executioner's block.In Calidor, downtrodden servant March seeks revenge on the prince who betrayed his people. In Pitoria, feckless Edyon steals cheap baubles for cheaper thrills as he drifts from town to town.And in the barren northern territories, thirteen-year-old Tash is running for her life as she plays bait for the gruff demon hunter Gravell.As alliances shift and shatter, and old certainties are overturned, our five heroes find their past lives transformed and their futures inextricably linked by the unpredictable tides of magic and war.Who will rise and who will fall? And who will claim the ultimate prize?******If you couldn't get enough of The Children of Blood and Bone or The Red Queen, then you need to dive into the world of Brigant.

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
  • ISBN: 9780141375397
  • Number of pages: 512
  • Weight: 351g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Smoke Thieves
Fantasy novel, first part of a series – good and original plot
This novel involves a range of different characters, all with their own agendas, eventually coming together as war breaks out between rival nations in th... READ MORE
Minette
The Smoke Thieves
Game of Thrones gets an intriguing YA make over
The best way I can describe The Smoke Thieves is a YA Game of Thrones. There are interesting and interweaving multiple POV’s, different continents at war, ... READ MORE
Jemma Doe
The Smoke Thieves
exciting political fantasy
It's been too long since I last read a book like The Smoke Thieves and I loved diving into the world Sally Green has built here. The Smoke Thieves is very... READ MORE
Liam James
The Smoke Thieves
An engaging YA fantasy that sets the tone for what's sure to be a magical, daring series!
I absolutely LOVED this book. The book starts with 1 of our 5 main characters, Tash and her companion Gravell, setting a trap for a demon. I loved this o... READ MORE
Kayleigh Brindley
The Smoke Thieves
Recommended
I received this arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Honestly, this book reminded me of what I love about the fantasy genre. Interesting sp... READ MORE
Eleanor Jeffery
The Smoke Thieves
Heroes and heroines, demons and dastardly dealings
The Smoke Thieves introduces us to a whole new world of heroes and heroines, demons and dastardly dealings with a light touch and wit and at a fast-moving ... READ MORE
Keely
The Smoke Thieves
A Book I Struggled to Connect Wit
I received an ARC from Penguin Random House India in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. Game of Thrones meets ... READ MORE
Aditi Nichani
The Smoke Thieves
A slow-burn fantasy
What's it about? A princess, a traitor, a soldier, a hunter and a thief. In Brigant, Princess Catherine prepares for a political marriage arranged by her... READ MORE
SeaAreSea
The Smoke Thieves
The YA answer to game of Thrones
The best way I can describe The Smoke Thieves is a YA Game of Thrones. There are interesting and interweaving multiple POV’s, different continents at war, ... READ MORE
Jemma Doe
The Smoke Thieves
A clever mix of character and plot driven fantasy
It's been a while since I read a YA fantasy with multiple point of views and after reading The Smoke Thieves, I don't know why I don't read it more often. ... READ MORE
Henna