The Sound of a Thousand Stars

The Sound of a Thousand Stars

Paperback Published on: 08/10/2024
Coming soon
Published 08/10/2024
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

1944, New Mexico: Alice Katz is a young Jewish physicist, one of the only female doctoral students at her university, studying with the famous Dr Oppenheimer. Her well-to-do family wants her to marry and settle down. Instead, Alice answers her country's call to go deep into the desert and lend her skills to a secret project at the heart of the fight against Germany.

At Los Alamos, Alice meets Caleb, who has been assigned to the explosives division. Around them are other young scientists and engineers who have left their ordinary lives behind, telling no one where they are going and what they will be doing.

Details of the project are shrouded in secrecy, but everyone knows it is a race against time to beat the Nazis before they create an unspeakable weapon of their own.

In this atmosphere of fear and uncertainty, and despite their many differences, Alice and Caleb find themselves drawn to one another. But as they become more and more desperate to complete their mission before the war is lost, they will face a heartbreaking choice between love for their country and love for each other...

This epic tale of love in the face of war is a poignant reminder of the consequences of our decisions, and the roles we play in history. Perfect for fans of Oppenheimer, Hidden Figures and The Diamond Eye.

Everyone loves The Sound of a Thousand Stars:

'Meticulously researched and beautifully rendered... Reminds us that the greatest mysteries are those of the human heart. This book will leave you breathless' Soon Wiley

'A soaring testament to all those unseen souls who answered history's call and selflessly sacrificed in order to shape the world in which we live' Giano Cromley

'Asks devastating questions of our past while engaging in hopeful reflections on love. The attention to historical and scientific detail is impressive, and the prose kept me turning pages' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Riveting story that shows love and destiny are forces just as powerful as faith or science' Kathleen Rooney

'Beautifully done historical fiction... It had everything that I was looking for... I enjoyed the science element' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Asking questions of complicity and sacrifice that reverberate today, this beautifully written novel considers the costs of scientific advancement, the value of an individual life, and the thrilling knife's edge of being in love' Julia Fine

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781399743211
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

Customer Reviews