The Story Orchestra: Carnival of the Animals Volume 5

The Story Orchestra: Carnival of the Animals Volume 5: Press the note to hear Saint-Saëns' music

Children's, New & Recommended, Age 9-12, Fairy Tale & Gift Books
Hardback Published on: 06/10/2020
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop


Discover the magical world of Carnival of the Animals in this musical reimagining of this celebrated suite for children – push the button in each breathtaking scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Camille Saint-Saëns’ score.

One day, two brothers discover a magical animal kingdom behind their bookcase. They are greeted by the royal lion with his shaggy mane; ask for directions from an old lonely tortoise; take a ride on some lumbering elephants; topple a skeleton of dinosaur bones; and swim among a school of shimmering fish. If only they could take them all home...

The book includes extracts from ‘The Swan’, ‘Aquarium’, ‘Fossils’, and ‘Finale’ (From Disney’s Fantasia) along with a totally new story to link the pieces together.

As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the suite’s music. At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Camille Saint-Saëns, with details about his composition of Carnival of the Animals. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet, opera and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores. With The Story Orchestra keyboard sound books, children can play the famous melodies themselves with the sound of a real grand piano.

Also available from the Story Orchestra series: The Magic Flute, I Can Play (vol 1), Swan Lake, The Sleeping Beauty, The Nutcracker and Four Seasons in One Day.

Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.

The perfect primer to introduce children to classical music.

  • Publisher: Quarto Publishing PLC
  • ISBN: 9780711249523
  • Number of pages: 24
  • Dimensions: 265 x 304 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Story Orchestra: Carnival of the Animals Volume 5
Excellent Series!
My children and I love these books. Well written stories based around key orchestral works introduce classical music in a clever and imaginative way. We ... READ MORE
Donna Stockill
The Story Orchestra: Carnival of the Animals Volume 5
Family Enjoyment
I bought this for a musical granddaughter, who loves it. She has given it its special place in order that no harm will come to it. It is a delightful way t... READ MORE
Christine Samuda