• The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts
  • The Swifts

The Swifts: The New York Times Bestselling Mystery Adventure

Children's, Age 9-12
Hardback Published on: 02/02/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Swifts
Wonderful wordplay, illuminating illustrations and a magnificent mystery
I loved this book. You follow Shenanigan Swift whose family is bonkers on a very high level. Every time a Swift is born the baby is taken to the famil... READ MORE
Eilish at Rustington
The Swifts
Clever and fun!
This book was so good, I finished it in one sitting! It's packed full to the brim with clever word play, shenanigans and relatable characters. The plot was... READ MORE
Cerys at Hemel Hempstead
The Swifts
Murder mystery filled with dark humour!
Meet Shenanigan Swift, Shenanigan by name and Shenanigan by nature, or is she?! Being a Swift means having your name chosen by the family dictionary which ... READ MORE
Denise Gale

Synopsis

A hilarious new mystery adventure perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Lemony Snicket. On the day they are born, each Swift is brought before the sacred Family Dictionary. They are given a name and a definition, and it is assumed they will grow up to match. Unfortunately, Shenanigan Swift has other ideas. So what if her relatives all think she's destined to turn out as a troublemaker, just because of her name? Shenanigan knows she can be whatever she wants - pirate, explorer or even detective. Which is lucky, really, because when one of the Family tries to murder Arch-Aunt Schadenfreude, someone has to work out whodunit. With the help of her sisters and cousin, Shenanigan grudgingly takes on the case, but more murders, a hidden treasure and an awful lot of suspects make thing seriously complicated. Can Shenanigan catch the killer before the whole household is picked off? And in a Family where definitions are so important, can she learn to define herself?

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
  • ISBN: 9780241613009
  • Number of pages: 464
  • Weight: 655g
  • Dimensions: 222 x 162 x 41 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Swifts
Deliciously dark
Mr S and I are polar opposites in many ways: he loves football, I detest it; he has no taste whatsoever in music, I – obviously – have excellent taste; he ... READ MORE
Jacqui  Sydney
The Swifts
Funny & Mysterious read
Thank you to the publishers for this review copy. This book was originally recommended to me by another Children's author. This book I am hoping will be th... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp