The Sword Defiant

The Sword Defiant

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 04/05/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Sword Defiant
Cutting Edge
It is not a stretch to say that the influence of JRR Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings upon the rest of fantasy literature can barely be calculated. However,... READ MORE
Richard Hayden in Rye
The Sword Defiant
The Sword Maketh the Man?
Fifteen years after our heroes The Nine defeated Lord Bone everything appears to be settled, but our protagonist Alf has left the city and is drawn to find... READ MORE
Sharon at Maidstone

Synopsis

'Hanrahan's outstanding first outing in the Lands of the Firstborn series will thrill fantasy readers' Booklist, starred reviewTHE SWORD CARES NOT WHO IT CUTSMany years ago, Sir Aelfric and his nine companions saved the world, seizing the Dark Lord's cursed weapons, along with his dread city of Necrad. That was the easy part. Now, when Aelfric - keeper of the cursed sword Spellbreaker - learns of a new and terrifying threat, he seeks the nine heroes once again. But they are wandering adventurers no longer. Yesterday's eager heroes are today's weary leaders - and some have turned to the darkness, becoming monsters themselves.If there's one thing Aelfric knows, it's slaying monsters. Even if they used to be his friends.Set in a world of dark myth and dangerous prophecy, The Sword Defiant launches an epic tale of daring warriors, living weapons and bloodthirsty vengeance.'The front runner for my book of the year . . . The Sword Defiant is a love letter to roleplaying games, to Tolkien, to what epic fantasy has been about for me through my whole life. I adored this book from the first page to the last. Hanrahan has taken the best of the old, the best of the last two decades, and then brought it screaming into the modern era. Fans of Gemmell and Abercrombie need this on their shelves' Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing'Both a love letter and evolution of the epic fantasy novel . . . The Sword Defiant is an epic tale of how no world stands still forever . . . Highly recommended! Run Along the Shelves'Hanrahan is one of the best in the business at creating fantasy worlds that feel alive . . . I'll read any book that Gareth Hanrahan writes' The Fantasy Inn

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356516530
  • Number of pages: 576
  • Weight: 380g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 40 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Sword Defiant
I'm an Alf girl for life
I cried during the first and last chapter of the book (and a few times in between), that's probably all you need to know about how fast I got attached to t... READ MORE
Milica S.
The Sword Defiant
The Nine Shall Rule This World, or Rue it.
The Nine saved this world. Yet they too fell to their misdeeds. I have visited cities made of bone, of mortals and elves living side by side, with enmity b... READ MORE
Neil Sharma
The Sword Defiant
After the quest is over
The Sword Defiant is a gritty fantasy novel that takes a wonderfully fresh approach to the Quest Against the Dark Lord. You know the one - a powerful wie... READ MORE
Blue Book Balloon