The Tenderness of Wolves

The Tenderness of Wolves

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 08/02/2007
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY EDITION - FEATURES READING GROUP QUESTIONS AND NEW MATERIAL FROM STEF'S UPCOMING EPIC NOVEL, UNDER A POLE STAR COSTA AWARD WINNER and WORLDWIDE BESTSELLER. A breathtaking tale of mystery, buried secrets and romance, set in nineteenth century frontier Canada - for fans of THE SNOW CHILD and A PLACE CALLED WINTER. 'Unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and rewarding' Independent on Sunday 'A tense and delicately written thriller' Observer Canada, 1867. A young murder suspect flees across the snowy wilderness. Tracking him is what passes for the law in this frontier land: trappers, sheriffs, traders and the suspect's own mother, desperate to clear his name. As the party pushes further from civilisation, hidden purposes and old obsessions are revealed. One is seeking long-lost daughters; another a fortune in stolen furs; yet another is chasing rumours of a lost Native American culture. But where survival depends on cooperation, their fragile truce cannot afford to be broken, nor their overriding purpose - to find justice for a murdered man - forgotten. The Tenderness of Wolves is a must-read historical epic, weaving adventure, suspense and humour into an exhilarating thriller, a panoramic romance and ultimately, one of the books of the last ten years.

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781847240675
  • Number of pages: 496
  • Weight: 350g
  • Dimensions: 199 x 132 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Tenderness of Wolves
Good, but not brilliant
I'll start by saying I did enjoy this book. It is extremely well written with some beautiful language. There are some wonderful characters; Moody, Parker a... READ MORE
Nocturnal bibliophile
The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves was the 2006 Costa Book of the Year, apparently a better book than William Boyd's Restless. As I loved Restless I was really looki... READ MORE
Paul Curd
The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
I'm sure I had frostbitten feet reading this, such is the gritty realism conveyed by Stef Penney. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and felt like I'd struggl... READ MORE
Cheryl Brassey
The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
An exellent read!! Couldn't put it down, once i'd got into it!!!!
Samantha Bannister
The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
A little hard going at times but I did enjoy it. Not my usual read but I did enjoy it. Not sure I'd rush out to get her next one though.
Angela Thornhill
The Tenderness of Wolves
loved it
I totally loved this book I could not put it down. A must buy must read book
Bookread2day
The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
A marvellous epic tale set in Northern Canada. The characters are completely rounded and you care what happens to them. There is murder, greed, tendernes... READ MORE
Patricia Anne Mansfield