The Whisperling

The Whisperling

Children's, Age 9-12
Paperback Published on: 01/09/2022
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Whisperling
A brilliantly fun ghostly gothic mystery
I was lucky enough to receive an early copy of 'The Whisperling' and was gripped and whisked away by Haley Hoskins ghostly nineteenth century Bristol. This... READ MORE
Ben Creasey
The Whisperling
Bold & Brave. I Loved Following Peggy As She Tries To Hide Her Secret And Help Others
Peggy can see the dead, when they die they burn bright and she can take final messages to their loved ones or a warning if disaster has fallen. She tried w... READ MORE
Nicole @hemelwstones
The Whisperling
I adored this book!
From undertakers to ghostly appearances this book is perfect for any spooky fan. I adored The found family aspects of this book and the twists that kept me... READ MORE
Korie at Wimbledon

Synopsis

'One of the best debuts I've read in YEARS!' - Emma Carroll

When you're dead, you're dead. When you're gone, you're gone.
Unless, of course, you're not.
And that's where I come in.

The year is 1897, and Peggy Devona can speak with ghosts.

She hides her gift from those afraid of a girl with such powers, terrified of the secrets the dead could reveal through her. But when her best friend is accused of murdering her rich mistress, Peggy knows only she - a whisperling - can save her.

Peggy escapes to her uncle's psychic emporium in the city, seeking out new ghosts to help her solve Sally's case.

Yet time is running out, and each step towards uncovering the truth also brings Sally one step closer to the gallows. . .

A ghostly adventure in a dark and dangerous Victorian world, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Robin Stevens, and Jenni Spangler.

Praise for The Whisperling:

'A thrilling Gothic page-turner' - Jacqueline Wilson

'A captivating and spine-tingling read...paints a vivid picture of the Victorian era' - BookTrust

'Sends multiple shivers down the spine and delivers thrilling twists along the way' - LoveReading4Kids

'Atmospheric & gripping as well as witty. Loved the gothic girl power of Peggy' - Lucy Brandt, author of the Leonora Bolt series

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
  • ISBN: 9780241514504
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 245g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Whisperling
I wish I were a Whisperling too!
The Whisperling is a wonderful book for children who love ghosts and things that go bump in the night. In a world after there's been witch hunts and per... READ MORE
Bee Curtis-Monro
The Whisperling
Tears and fears from The Whisperling, in the best possible way. A beautiful and powerful book!
The Whisperling is a sublime ghost story, with a terrifying villain, an endearing heroine, some incredibly powerful emotional punches, a strong sense of so... READ MORE
Liam James
The Whisperling
A fantastic debut
*Thank you to Kaleidoscopic and Puffin for my copy of the book, in exchange for an honest review* I don’t usually read a lot of middle grade, but I have b... READ MORE
Danni
The Whisperling
So cleverly written
I immediately liked Peggy, she's so young to have such a burden on her, fear of anyone finding out her secret, and trying to look out for the other childre... READ MORE
Sabrina Accalai
The Whisperling
A unique twist on a well known genre
I love it when a book begins in an undertakers. You can guarantee a ghostly experience. The author gives us her unique twist on a well known genre. Peg... READ MORE
Vivienne
The Whisperling
too slow
This book just wasn't for me. I almost made it to the end, but i went to pick it up again at 78% and just...couldn't be bothered. I read what i did read i... READ MORE
erica cochrane