The Winter List

The Winter List

Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 07/09/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.


Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne. Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors. 'S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life' Antonia Hodgson By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II. A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up. Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad. Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king. Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List. Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker's friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York. As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery. One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor. ****************************** Praise for The Winter List 'A wonderful storyteller' The Times 'Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy' Sun 'A propulsive plot . . . well-researched and fascinating' Guardian 'Gripping fiction with historical fact' Sunday Times 'What a fabulous book . . . there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge' 5* Reader Review 'Kept me hooked right up to the end' 5* Reader Review 'A glorious tale of revenge and retribution . . . Highly recommended' 5* Reader Review

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781529414226
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 609g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 164 x 38 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Winter List
Highly recommended
I was so happy to see that a new novel set in the book of the Seeker was going to be published. Even if Damian is not present all the characters belong to... READ MORE
The Winter List
An engaging political thriller set in the early years of the Restoration
‘The Winter List’ is Book 6 in S. G. MacLean’s Damian Seeker series of historical political thrillers set in the mid-17th Century. By the summer of 1660 t... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
The Winter List
Fans of Damien Seeker won't be disappointed in this glorious tale.
Fans of Damien Seeker won't be disappointed in this glorious tale. Following the events of "The House of Lamentations", it's 166o and Charles II has been... READ MORE
Martin  Paul
The Winter List
Hiding without a Seeker
1660 and the Stuarts are restored to the throne. Despite initially pardoning many supporters of the Commonwealth, Charles II is hellbent on revenge again... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson