The Winter List

The Winter List

Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 09/05/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne. Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors.

'S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life' Antonia Hodgson

By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II. A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up. Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad.

Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king. Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List. Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker's friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York.

As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery. One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined.

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor.

******************************

Praise for The Winter List

'A wonderful storyteller' The Times

'Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy' Sun

'A propulsive plot . . . well-researched and fascinating' Guardian

'Gripping fiction with historical fact' Sunday Times

'What a fabulous book . . . there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge' 5* Reader Review

'Kept me hooked right up to the end' 5* Reader Review

'A glorious tale of revenge and retribution . . . Highly recommended' 5* Reader Review

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781529414264
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 260g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews