The Witchfinder's Sister

The Witchfinder's Sister: The captivating Richard & Judy Book Club historical thriller 2018

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 02/03/2017
£14.99
Not available
This product is currently unavailable
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Witchfinder's Sister
Women my brother Matthew killed....
It is 1645 and Alice Hopkins is a pregnant recently widowed woman who must relocate to Manningtree, Essex to live with her brother Matthew . Matthew is no... READ MORE
Emine at Bromley

Synopsis

'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six . . .'

THE PAGE-TURNING RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER

'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
_________________________

When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?
And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?

Winner of the HWA Debut Crown Award 2017, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, Hamnet and Where the Crawdads Sing.
_________________________

'Vivid and terrifying' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

'A clever, pacey read that blends truth and fiction' The Times

'At once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale

'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

'Beth Underdown grips us from the outset and won't let go . . . at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale, author of Notes from an Exhibition

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780241978030
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 510g
  • Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 33 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Witchfinder's Sister
Historical novel set in MANNINGTREE, Essex
This is one of the most engaging historical novels I have ever read. A compelling story, beautifully portrayed: the lives and times of good-natured people ... READ MORE
TripFiction
The Witchfinder's Sister
Wonderful historical fiction
4.5 stars rounded up to 5 Every time I read a historical fiction book, I'm reminded just how fascinating English history is, and that I absolutely bloody ... READ MORE
OwlBeSatReading