These Burning Stars

These Burning Stars

Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 19/10/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
These Burning Stars
An addictive, intriguing sci-fi debut
What a book! What a debut! This is storytelling at its best, with vivid worldbuilding, characters that step off the page, and intrigue aplenty. It’s hard t... READ MORE
Ariana

Synopsis

'Vivid, violent and visceral: an impressive debut' Kate Elliott, author of Unconquerable Sun**SHORTLISTED FOR THE PHILIP K. DICK AWARD**Jun Ironway, hacker, con artist, and only occasional thief, has got her hands on a piece of contraband that could set her up for life: evidence that implicates the powerful Nightfoot family in a planet-wide genocide seventy-five years ago. The Nightfoots control the precious sevite that fuels interplanetary travel through three star systems. And someone is sure to pay handsomely for anything that could break their hold.Of course, anything valuable is also dangerous. The Kindom, the ruling power of the three star systems, is inextricably tied up in the Nightfoots' monopoly - and they can't afford to let Jun expose the truth. They task two of their most brutal clerics with hunting her down: preternaturally stoic Chono, and brilliant hothead Esek, who also happens to be the heir to the Nightfoot empire.But Chono and Esek are haunted in turn by a figure from their shared past, known only as Six. What Six truly wants is anyone's guess. And the closer they get to finding Jun, the surer Chono is that Six is manipulating them all - and that they are heading for a bloody confrontation that no one will survive unscathed.'One of the best SF books I've read. Period' Michael Mammay, author of Planetside'Intricately plotted and tightly paced . . . Space opera fans will eat this up'Publishers Weekly'A multi-layered saga full of courtly intrigue and indelible characters, Bethany Jacobs' These Burning Stars warps readers across the galaxy on a devilishly fun thrill ride'Bookpage'A fast-moving novel of action and intrigue, which Jacobs pulls off with vivid energy, bringing her threads together in an explosive conclusion' Locus

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356520070
  • Number of pages: 448
  • Weight: 300g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
These Burning Stars
Wonderful sci-fi
This was a wonderful piece of sci-fi. A fascinating piece of political intrigue! We are introduced to Esek at a point where she challenges a student to... READ MORE
Jennifer Charlton
These Burning Stars
Stunning Space Opera
Clever, compelling and consuming, These Burning Stars kept me gripped and delightfully managed to surprise me - something I find happens rarely these days.... READ MORE
Elizabeth Knight
These Burning Stars
Superb Space Opera
Clever, compelling and consuming, These Burning Stars kept me gripped and delightfully managed to surprise me - something I find happens rarely these days.... READ MORE
Elizabeth Knight
These Burning Stars
Sci-fi fans: don't miss out!
This book left me absolutely staggered. One of the best books I've read in the last few years, hands down. Perfect for fans of Yoon Ha Lee, Ann Leckie, Ark... READ MORE
J. Ceri