Traitor in the Ice

Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere.

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 31/03/2022
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'Full of tension and danger... powerfully atmospheric' JENNIFER SAINT 'A beautifully crafted thriller... Breathtaking and bone-chilling' MANDA SCOTT 'Maitland is a superlative historical novelist' REBECCA MASCULL --- Whispers haunt the walls and treachery darkens the shadows in this captivating historical novel for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London and Kate Mosse. Winter, 1607. A man is struck down in the grounds of Battle Abbey, Sussex. Before dawn breaks, he is dead. Home to the Montagues, Battle has caught the paranoid eye of King James. The Catholic household is rumoured to shelter those loyal to the Pope, disguising them as servants within the abbey walls. And the last man sent to expose them was silenced before his report could reach London. Daniel Pursglove is summoned to infiltrate Battle and find proof of treachery. He soon discovers that nearly everyone at the abbey has something to hide - for deeds far more dangerous than religious dissent. But one lone figure he senses only in the shadows, carefully concealed from the world. Could the notorious traitor Spero Pettingar finally be close at hand? As more bodies are unearthed, Daniel determines to catch the culprit. But how do you unmask a killer when nobody is who they seem? DANIEL PURSGLOVE BOOK TWO --- Praise for THE DROWNED CITY 'Dark and enthralling' ANDREW TAYLOR 'This gripping thriller shows what a wonderful storyteller Maitland is' THE TIMES 'Colourful and compelling' SUNDAY TIMES 'Goes right to the heart of the Jacobean court' TRACY BORMAN 'Devilishly good' DAILY MAIL 'Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant' CONN IGGULDEN 'There are few authors who can bring the past to life so compellingly... Brilliant writing and more importantly, riveting reading' SIMON SCARROW 'The intrigues of Jacobean court politics simmer beneath the surface in this gripping and masterful crime novel' KATHERINE CLEMENTS 'Beautifully written with a dark heart, Maitland knows how to pull you deep into the early Jacobean period' RHIANNON WARD

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781472275455
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 660g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 42 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Traitor in the Ice
Entertaining Historical Mystery
1607 Daniel Pursglove is sent to Battle Abbey to infiltrate the home of the Catholic Montagues to discover traitors to King James.Also to discover what hap... READ MORE
Susan Meikle
Traitor in the Ice
A Good Historical Read
Set in the early 1600,s during the Great Freeze which was an actual thing ,this is a very enjoyable historical story with very good characters .Atmospheric... READ MORE
Chrissie Mortimer
Traitor in the Ice
Perfect blend of history and mystery
It is not necessary for you to have read the first book featuring Daniel Pursglove for you to be able to understand and enjoy The Traitor in the Ice, it wo... READ MORE
Julie Morris
Traitor in the Ice
History and fiction well intertwined
It’s 1607 in Jacobean England and Daniel Pursglove has been set yet another almost impossible task - to get into Battle Abbey, home of the Montagues and to... READ MORE
Gee Wood
Traitor in the Ice
A good series
Daniel Pursgrove number 2. 3.5 rounded up. 'Hark, hark! The dogs do bark, The beggars are coming to town: Some in rags, some in jags, And some in velvet g... READ MORE
Celia Short
Traitor in the Ice
Interesting author's notes and glossary at the end of this good read
I was offered this book by the publishers to read and review - they also offered a digital copy of the first book in the series and I chose to read that be... READ MORE
Sharyn Farnaby
Traitor in the Ice
Simply superb.
In this second book of the series, Daniel Pursglove is sent to investigate a dead body and popish sympathisers at Battle Abbey, Sussex. He must infiltrate ... READ MORE
Peter  Evans
Traitor in the Ice
Very atmospheric
Daniel Pursglove has been handed a new mission. He is to infiltrate Battle Abbey, home of the Viscountess Montague, to find evidence of treachery. The Ab... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson
Traitor in the Ice
Historical murder mystery
The second book to the tale of Daniel Pursglove and although it would have helped to set the scene, K J Maitland has done well to provide background when n... READ MORE
Rebecca Queay
Traitor in the Ice
An excellent work of historical spy fiction set in Jacobean England
My thanks to Headline Review for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘Traitor in the Ice’ by K. J. Maitland in exchange for an honest review. This is Book 2 in Mait... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
Traitor in the Ice
Well-Researched Historical Series
I was pleased to read the second in the Daniel Pursglove series, "Traitor in the Ice" by KJ Maitland in which the action moves from the streets of Bristol ... READ MORE
Mel Pretorius