What You Are Looking for is in the Library

What You Are Looking for is in the Library

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Hardback Published on: 10/08/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A wholesome story in five slices
Fans of the slice of life genre, or anyone looking for 250 pages of wholesome warm goodness this is the book for you. This is a story in five acts, each... READ MORE
Dean Cook
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Very cute short stories!
A collection of 5 different people who all go to the same library and gets recommended different books to help them find answers on how to live out their l... READ MORE
Safiya Bibi
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Loved it!
I defiantly say this book can be for anyone. It doesn't matter how old you are or what kind of path you are currently on, Michiko Aoyama has comfort and wi... READ MORE
Alexander Cooil
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Wholesome and life-affirming
Perfect for fans of Before the Coffee Gets Cold. This book exhumes pure joy. Each chapter focuses on a different person and how their interactions with the... READ MORE
Holly at Oldham
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Beautiful, quietly inspirational read - envelopes you like soft blankets, tea and favourite biscuits
Five stories about five lost souls, unhappy with life as it is but unsure what to do about it. Each ends up at the library at the local community centre, w... READ MORE
Selena, Guildford
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
So very nearly perfect
This is a very sweet book, the library has a librarian Sayuri who seems to read the innermost thoughts of her clients. Series of 5 short stories about peop... READ MORE
Neil Challis @Windsor
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Briming with connection, kindness and the gentle power of books
What a joy to read, oozing with gentle wisdom on finding connection and contentment in our modern world. We follow the five different people who cross path... READ MORE
Emily at Tenterden
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
“What are you looking for?”
What You Are Looking for is in the Library is a beautifully written collection of stories about the magic of libraries and just how life-changing a good bo... READ MORE
Leyla Gant
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Lovely Little Moments of Pure Joy
Each chapter a different person who discovers the library & finds themselves given recommends by the librarian there who gives them what they didn't know t... READ MORE
Nicole @hemelwstones
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A truly lovely book
This was a joyful proof to receive, as I was delighted by the cat on the cover and it was only up from there. As many other reviews state, this is perfect ... READ MORE
Beatrice Hughes
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Perfect comfy read
This book was so wholesome and enjoyable to read. It's about 5 different people who find their way to a special library at a time when they need help. Remi... READ MORE
Patrycja Kostecka
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A very gentle, wholesome read
A very gentle, wholesome read, and quite short, so a good palate cleanser! Perfect for reading at the end of a long day: a series of glimpses into ordinary... READ MORE
C.B
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
An ode to the power of books
In a community centre sits an inconspicuous library. In the library works the quite conspicuous Sayuri Komachi. She seems to just know what book you should... READ MORE
Alan M
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
My heart is so full!
Reading this book feels like a hug from your favourite person! What You Are Looking for is in the Library reminded me exactly why books are so near and dea... READ MORE
Emily at Waterstones Exeter
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A cosy, comforting delight
I adored this book from start to finish. I felt real empathy for the characters and loved how they let me into their everyday lives, thoughts and feelings.... READ MORE
Emma Legan
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A charming tale of hope and perseverance..
A charming tale of hope and perseverance. Step into the little community centre library, attached to an ordinary primary school and your life could change ... READ MORE
James at Chiswick
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Beautifully written and gently inspiring
This book was like a warm hug in fiction form. A collection of five short stories, all set in the same area of Tokyo centering around a very special commun... READ MORE
Alex Parsons

Synopsis

What are you looking for? So asks Tokyo's most enigmatic librarian to the visitors in her library. For Sayuri Komachi is no ordinary librarian. Sensing exactly what someone is searching for in life, she provides just the book recommendation to help them find it. We meet five visitors at a different crossroads: the restless retail assistant eager to pick up new skills, the mother faced with a demotion at work after maternity leave, the conscientious accountant who yearns to open an antique store, the gifted young manga artist in search of motivation, and a recently retired salaryman on a quest for newfound purpose. After reading Komachi's unique book recommendation, they will soon discover what they need to achieve their dreams. What You Are Looking For is in the Library is about the magic of community libraries and the discovery of connection. Already loved by thousands of readers all over the world, this heart-bursting, inspirational tale shows how, by listening to our hearts, seizing opportunity and reaching out, we too can fulfil our long-held dreams. Which book will you recommend?

  • Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • ISBN: 9780857529121
  • Number of pages: 256
  • Weight: 320g
  • Dimensions: 200 x 134 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
for the fans of Before the Coffee Gets Cold
You guys are not ready for this one! It's a cute little book with a powerful message. We follow 5 different characters, with each of them stumbling upon a ... READ MORE
Sophie Davidson
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A simple yet lovely read!
What You're Looking For Is In The Library is a little collection of simple stories that all have a special connection - a small community library with a li... READ MORE
Oliver Merryweather
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
An excellent book of short interlocking stories
This is a marvellous book made up of short stories that all revolve around a library. The stories end up joining characters together as you move through t... READ MORE
Tony
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
An absolute reading pleasure
If you have enjoyed Sosuke Natsukawa’s The Cat Who Saved Books or any of Kawaguchi’s time travelling cafe stories, you will love this collection of stories... READ MORE
Daren Kearl
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Exploring the library is a delightful adventure
“What are you looking for?” Sayuri Komachi, the enigmatic librarian with a box of Kuremiyado Honeydome cookies, will pose this question to visitors appr... READ MORE
Winda Putri
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
“What are you looking for?”
“How uncanny the way what one reads can sometimes synchronise with reality.” A book about books and a librarian who recommends the right one at the right ... READ MORE
Schizanthus  Nerd
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Librarians are always a bit magical.
“What you are looking for is in the library” is a book of short stories loosely connected by their location and the character of Ms Komachi, a librarian in... READ MORE
Dabarai
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Winda Putri
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Highly recommended
I’m becoming a huge fan of books about Japanese library as they’re both heartwarming and multi-layered. You read a story that will make you smile but there... READ MORE
AMG
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A little book of wisdom
I believe every book worm should have a copy on there book shelve. I adore this book . It’s cosy and warm and full of friendly fascinating charm and majika... READ MORE
Guinivere  Rose
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Gentle & Heart Warming
Thank you to the publishers for this review copy, this is a gorgeous gentle read about finding yourself or moving on to the next stage in life. Absolutely... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
What you are looking for is in the library
bought as a present but apparently much enjoyed
Jean Ling
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
What you are looking for is in the library by Michiko Aoyama
What You Are Looking For Is In The Library by Michiko Aoyama and translated by Alison Watts is a collection of stories about people who all visit the libra... READ MORE
Christine Rennie
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Translated Japanese fiction is here to stay and it's gorgeous
Gifted in return for an honest review. A really fabulous read. I love Japanese translated fiction and this is definitely one of them. Hopeful and fun an... READ MORE
Victoria Bucknell
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Utterly delightful!
What You Are Looking For Is In The Library is a novel by best-selling Japanese author, Michiko Aoyama. It is translated from Japanese by Alison Watts. Each... READ MORE
Marianne Vincent
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
An uplifting collection of inspirational stories
“‘What are you looking for?’ Her voice . . . it’s so weird . . . It nails my feet to the floor. As if it has physically grabbed hold of me somehow. But th... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A New Favourite!
I loved this book, it’s a new favourite and one I’ll definitely be reading again! It’s a wonderful collection of short stories centred around a library, a... READ MORE
Nicki M
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
A warm hug of a book
This book is the definition of a warm hug. The stories of the library borrowers are enchanting and inspiring as they all navigate through different stages ... READ MORE
Jo Will
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
What you are looking for is here
Beautifully, uplifting, inspiring perfection.
Sarah Atherton