When Grumpy Met Sunshine

When Grumpy Met Sunshine

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 15/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'A hilarious and modern Cinderella story that feels like eating warm chocolate cake' – Talia Hibbert, author of Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Finding love was not the only goal . . .

When grumpy ex-footballer Alfie Harding gets badgered into selling his memoirs, he knows he’s never going to be able to write them. He hates revealing a single thing about himself, is allergic to most emotions, and can't imagine doing a good job of putting pen to paper.

And so in walks curvy, cheery, cute-as-hell ghostwriter Mabel Willicker, who knows just how to sunshine and sass her way into getting every little detail out of Alfie. They banter and bicker their way to writing his life story, both of them sure they’ll never be anything other than at odds.

But after their business arrangement is mistaken for a budding romance, the pair have to pretend to be an item to satisfy a public ravenous for more of this Cinderella story. And now they have to decide: is their fake relationship all for show or something so real it might just give them their fairy-tale ending?

A steamy, opposites-attract romance with undeniable chemistry between a grumpy retired footballer and his fabulous and very sunshine-y ghostwriter. For fans of Ted Lasso and Tessa Bailey.

'Alfie’s Roy Kent-inspired voice is a triumph — and very, very funny — but sex is where Stein really shines. This, children, is how the professionals do it. Not a rote list of parts and positions, but a physical flow between two people. It’s the difference between seeing choreography laid out in footprints on the floor, and being swept away by the dance' - The New York Times

  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 9781035038121
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 230g
  • Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 20 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
When Grumpy Met Sunshine
Cute
I thought this book was so cute. It did take me a little bit to get into it but once Mabel & Alfie started communicating I knew it was going to be good. At... READ MORE
Renee_Reads
When Grumpy Met Sunshine
Delightfully funny! Great narration on audio!
Looking for a hilarious rom com to read, then grab this book. Although, I have to say, the audiobook is even better as the narrator really brings the thoug... READ MORE
Michelle Cox
When Grumpy Met Sunshine
Full of a lot of banter
This is a sweet and sexy romantic comedy with lots of banter that proves opposites really do attract. Alfie may seem like the stereotypical football grump,... READ MORE
Eve Webster
When Grumpy Met Sunshine
Steamy opposites attract rom-com
Three and a half stars. Grumpy hardman ex-footballer Alfie Harding has a contract to write his memoir but after a foreword he wrote for a friend was uni... READ MORE
Alison Robinson