When I Feel Red

When I Feel Red: A powerful story of dyspraxia, identity and finding your place in the world

Children's, New & Recommended, Age 9-12
Paperback Published on: 15/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
When I Feel Red
A stunning middle-grade read
Firstly, I wish this book had been around when I was at school. What a a fabulous plot focussing on not being pressured into doing what everything else aro... READ MORE
Emma at Waterstones Blackburn
When I Feel Red
a story that feels incredibly apt, personal and real.
Bailey crafts a story that feels incredibly apt, personal and real. April is a wonderful MC that struggles with the societal expectations at her young age ... READ MORE
Ella-Mae from Lewes

Synopsis

'I feel like I'm always ... last. Like I'm running to try and keep up with everyone but it's no good.'

April has always marched to the beat of her own drum, but would life be easier if she learned to fit in? Now that she's in Year 8, things have got even worse. She's much more likely to be trying to rescue an animal in need than worrying about who's dating who at school, which April just finds BORING. Plus, her lessons feel like they're in a foreign language, and it suddenly seems impossible to make it through the week without landing in detention.

As family worries and classroom romances ramp up, it feels like everyone around her is pulling away - even her best friend Ben. But when the pressure's on, can she find a way to fit in and still be true to herself?

An empowering follow up to When I See Blue about finding your place in the world from the inspiring author and mental health activist, Lily Bailey. Perfect for fans of Elle McNicoll.

'An authentic and tender look at fitting in when you don't and being true to yourself' - A.M. Dassu
'This is a vivid account of being out of step with your peers, not limited to discussions about dyslexia and dyspraxia' - The Guardian
'April is one of the best main characters I've come across and you will root for her with your whole heart' - Jennifer Killick

  • Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
  • ISBN: 9781510109933
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Weight: 320g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
When I Feel Red
A beautiful, empathetic read
A couple of years ago, I was stuck in a Teams meeting that I really didn’t want to attend. The woman leading it was one of those annoyingly over-enthusiast... READ MORE
Jacqui  Sydney
When I Feel Red
Dsypraxia, school, family, friends and fitting in or not...
I've Seen When I Feel Blue on twitter a lot but haven't read it so when this came up on Netgalley I had to read it. April lives with her parents, they'r... READ MORE
T Lander
When I Feel Red
A great read for teens and pre-teens who worry about fitting in.
When April starts year 8 at school, it seems like everyone else has changed and moved on to teenage angst and dating boys whilst she is still interested in... READ MORE
Helen Foxall
When I Feel Red
Gorgeous Read!
Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy. This was a gorgeous read, a times it made me laugh out loud, other times it could break your heart... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
When I Feel Red
Another Incredible MG Novel from Lily Bailey
Having absolutely adored When I See Blue, I was so excited for When I Feel Red - that excitement was well worth it. I read this all in one sitting (despite... READ MORE
Holly Pratt