Wild East

Wild East

Children's, Teenage & Young Adult
Paperback Published on: 23/05/2024
RRP £8.99
£7.49
Save £1.50 (17%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

The soaring debut YA verse-novel by Ashley Hickson-Lovence, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Manjeet Mann, and Dean Atta.

'Pen in one hand, on my wrist, a ticking clock. I've got to make this work, just need a little luck...'

When fourteen-year-old Ronny’s life is struck by tragedy, his mum decides it’s finally time they move out of East London.

In his new city, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider and struggles to balance keeping his head down with his ambition of becoming a rapper.

But when a local poet comes into class, Ronny discovers a world he’s never considered before. Rap is like spoken word, bars equal poetry – and maybe the combination of both could be the key to achieving his dreams?

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
  • ISBN: 9780241645444
  • Number of pages: 288
  • Weight: 234g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 18 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Wild East
Powerful novel-in-verse
I largely picked this up because it's a novel-in-verse and I'm yet to read one that hasn't been amazing. I'm glad this kept that pattern up. This book s... READ MORE
Holly Pratt