Winter Animals

Winter Animals

Hardback Published on: 01/02/2024
RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

'Excellent . . . Ashani Lewis is superbly talented.' Katherine Rundell'Thoughtful, intelligent and beautifully written . . . Lewis is definitely a new talent to watch.' Marie Claire, "Best Books of 2024"Be one of the first to discover this award-winning writer's decadent and addictive debut, a must-read for fans of The Secret History and The GuestIn one of America's Happiest Cities, thirty-eight-year-old Elen is trapped under the shadow of the snow-capped Cascade Mountains. Her husband has left her. Her belongings are in the boot of her car. Her days are filled mostly with silence and drinking. When she meets four English teenagers in an empty bar, she is enamoured.Luka, Clover, George and Lyn are wealthy squatters, drifting between ski resorts and breaking into empty AirBnBs. When they bring Elen into their fold - and into their messy, entangled relationships - she senses a violent secret that fuels the four's never-ending disappearing act.Dazzling, cultish, and intensely committed to creating their own utopia, they force Elen to ruminate on the irresistible pull of bright young things.She doesn't understand what they want from her, but how can she leave when she has nowhere else to go?A dark meditation on the dangers and seductive power of youthful idealism, and the slippages between friendship and love, Winter Animals is an extraordinary debut examining freedom, friendship, desire and excess.'A dreamlike, piercing examination of privilege, youth and freedom.' Cecile Pin, author of Wandering Souls'Atmospheric as hell, beautiful, and delightfully intelligent . . . Think The Secret History written by Raven Leilani.' Jenny Mustard, author of Okay Days

  • Publisher: Dialogue
  • ISBN: 9780349703299
  • Number of pages: 240
  • Weight: 360g
  • Dimensions: 218 x 140 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Winter Animals
Can you trust these people?
When we meet Elen, her husband has left her, their house has been repossessed, she has no job and her drinking has been out of control for a while. Ready t... READ MORE
Anne O'Connell
Winter Animals
In the Bleak Midwinter
Elen finds herself questioning her life choices and her future in a US backwater mountain resort after her husband leaves her. A group of English teenagers... READ MORE
Daren Kearl