Yellow Wife

Yellow Wife

Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 07/09/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Virginia, 1850: 'Ain't many choices for a slave woman. Just know everything I do is for you. You are meant to see freedom. I's makin' sure.'Pheby Delores Brown was born on the Bell Plantation in Charles City, Virginia. The daughter of the estate's medicine woman, and cherished by the Master's sister, her days as an enslaved girl are almost over... She has been promised freedom on her eighteenth birthday.But when she finally turns eighteen, the life she has dreamed of is tragically torn from her. Instead of being free, she is thrust into the bowels of slavery at the infamous Devil's Half-Acre, a jail where slaves are broken, tortured and sold every day.Her life flashing before her eyes, Pheby is forced to become the mistress of the jailor, the brutal man who owns the prison. Yet even in hell, Pheby never loses sight of her freedom. But how much will she have to sacrifice? And in the face of such darkness, will she survive?Just as transfixing as it is devastating, this page-turner is inspired by the true story Mary Lumpkin, the enslaved woman who forged her own path to freedom. Perfect for fans of The Help and The Forest of Vanishing Stars, this heartbreaking read is about hope in a world of hate and the heart-wrenching price of survival.Readers love Yellow Wife:'Will literally stay with you forever. It was absolutely heartbreaking... I could not put it down. My heart was pounding throughout the entire book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Uhhhhhhh... My heart aches!! This was such a powerful and heart-wrenching read... Amazing read!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Whew... One of the best historical fiction novels that I've ever read... Phenomenal.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'The fastest page-turner ever and a heart-pounding read... With riveting prose, the pages fly and your heart races.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'I ended up crying all the way through... Yes, I cried over these pages.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'My heart aches!! Such a powerful and heart-wrenching read.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'I was completely captivated by the first page and couldn't put this book down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Beyond amazing.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A harrowing, emotional, incredible historical saga!... I felt I right there with Pheby every step of the way. Equal parts heartbreaking and triumphant and inspiring.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

  • Publisher: Dialogue
  • ISBN: 9780349130606
  • Number of pages: 288
  • Weight: 220g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Yellow Wife
Disturbingly riveting
Pheby. Everything about this book got under my skin and into my various emotions good and bad. Pheby was born on a Plantation and soon not only her mothe... READ MORE
ReadAlongWithSue