Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
A Year of Books
Account Services
Student Discount

The Man Booker Prize

  • For the Man Booker International Prize, click here


The Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969. It has been sponsored by Man Group plc since 2002, when it was renamed the Man Booker Prize. The Prize was set up by a company called Booker, who were at the time one of Britain's largest cash and carry companies and owners of the Budgens supermarket chain. (At around the same time, they also acquired the rights to the back catalogue of Ian Fleming.)

Until 2013, only original English-language fiction written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland was eligible. From 2014 onwards, original English-language works by any writer, regardless of nationality, is eligible.

The 2017 winner was George Saunders for Lincoln in the Bardo. He is the second American to win the prize after Paul Beatty's win the year before.

The judges for next year's prize were announced on 20th December 2017. Chairing the panel, will be the philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah. His fellow judges will be: crime writer Val McDermid; cultural critic Leo Robson; critic and femminist writer Jacqueline Rose and artist and graphic novelist Leanne Shapton.

The longlist will be announced in July 2018, followed by the shortlist in September, while the winner will be announced at a ceremony broadcast live on the BBC on 16th October 2018.




One-off awards

Midnight's ChildrenTo mark the 25th anniversary of the Prize in 1993, three former judges were asked to pick their 'Booker of Bookers' from the previous winners. They chose Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children, the book which was also named the Best of the Booker on the 40th anniversary.

In 2010 a one-off prize, the Lost Man Booker Prize was awarded to J G Farrell for his novel, The Troubles, which missed out at the time because the Prize ceased to be awarded retrospectively and became - as it is today - a prize for the best novel of the same year, meaning that most fiction released in 1970 was never eligible.

In 2011, the public were invited to vote for their favourite book of Beryl Bainbridge's five shortlisted entries: the Man Booker Beryl was awarded to her 1998 entry, Master Georgie.

To celebrate the 50th year of the prize this year, it was announced on 16th February that a special prize will be awarded to the best book of the last half century. Five judges will be each assigned a decade from which to choose their favourite book. The 'Golden Five' shortlist will be announced at the Hay Festival on 26th May. The five books will then  be put to the public vote for a month before the Golden Man Booker prize is announced at the Man Booker 50 Festival on 8 July.

2017 Shortlist

4 3 2 1
Paul Auster
LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017On March 3rd, 1947, Archibald Isaac Ferguson, the only child of Rose and Stanley Ferguson, is born.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

History of Wolves
Emily Fridlund
Already being acclaimed as one of the most exciting new voices of 2017, Emily Fridlund's HISTORY OF WOLVES is a brilliant coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of THE...
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

Exit West
Mohsin Hamid
his is Nadia. She is fiercely independent with an excellent sense of humour and a love of smoking alone on her balcony late at night. This is Saeed. He is...
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

Fiona Mozley
An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

Lincoln in the Bardo (Man Booker...
George Saunders
Shortlisted for The Golden Man Booker Prize The American Civil War rages while President Lincoln's beloved eleven-year-old son lies gravely ill. In a matter of days, Willie dies and is laid...
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.

Ali Smith
In a country apparently divided against itself, a writer such as Smith is more valuable than a whole parliament of ...
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am today. In stock items only. Click for more info.


Previous winners

2017 Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

2016 The Sellout by Paul Beatty - Read our exclusive interview

2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan - Read our exclusive interview

2013 The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton - Read our exclusive interview

2012 Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

2011 The Sense of An Ending by Julian Barnes

2010 The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

2009 Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2008 The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

2007 The Gathering by Anne Enright

2006 The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

2005 The Sea by John Banville

2004 The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst

2003 Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre

2002 Life of Pi by Yann Martel

2001 The True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey

2000 The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

1999 Disgrace by JM Coetzee

1998 Amsterdam by Ian McEwan

1997 The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

1996 Last Orders by Graham Swift

1995 The Ghost Road by Pat Barker

1994 How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman

1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

1992 The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje AND Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth

1991 The Famished Road by Ben Okri

1990 Possession by AS Byatt

1989 The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

1988 Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

1987 Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

1986 The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis

1985 The Bone People by Keri Hulme

1984 Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner

1983 The Life and Times of Michael K by JM Coetzee

1982 Schindler's Ark by Thomas Keneally

1981 Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie

1980 Rites of Passage by William Golding

1979 Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald

1978 The Sea the Sea by Iris Murdoch

1977 Staying on by Paul Scott

1976 Saville by David Storey

1975 Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1974 Holiday by Stanley Middleton AND The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer

1973 The Siege of Krishnapur by JG Farrell

1972 G by John Berger

1971 In a Free State by V.S.Naipaul

1970 The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens

1969 Something to Answer For by PH Newby

© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close