Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
A Year of Books
Account Services
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Baileys Winner Announced

7th June 2017

British author Naomi Alderman has won the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction with her fourth novel The Power (Viking). 


At an awards ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, London – hosted by novelist and Prize Co-Founder, Kate Mosse – the 2017 Chair of Judges, Tessa Ross presented the author with the £30,000 prize and the ‘Bessie’, a limited edition bronze figurine. Both are anonymously endowed.

Tessa Ross, Chair of Judges, said: “The judges and I were thrilled to make this decision. We debated this wonderful shortlist for many hours but kept returning to Naomi Alderman’s brilliantly imagined dystopia – her big ideas and her fantastic imagination.” You can read an exclusive interview with Naomi about her book here.


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction — one of the biggest international celebrations of women’s creativity — is the UK’s only annual book award for fiction celebrating excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. 2017 marks the 22nd year of the Prize. Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – is eligible.

The judges for the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction were:

Tessa Ross (Chair), CEO House Productions

Sam Baker, Journalist, Author and Co-Founder of The Pool

Katie Derham, Presenter and Broadcaster

Aminatta Forna, Novelist, Memoirist and Essayist

Sara Pascoe, Comic and Author


Alderman’s win comes just over a decade after her debut novel Disobedience, won the 2006 Orange Award for New Writers.  Set up in 2005 to mark the 10th anniversary of the Orange  Prize, the emphasis of the Award was on emerging talent and the evidence of future potential.


Recent winners include Lisa McInerney for The Glorious Heresies (2016), Ali Smith for How to be Both (2015) and Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (2014).


The awards took place in The Clore Ballroom of the Royal Festival Hall, central London. In addition to the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction winner announcement, aspiring novelist Georgina Roberts was named as the winner of the Baileys Women’s Prize/Grazia First Chapter Competition for unpublished writers.



Related Items

The Power
Naomi Alderman
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close