Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
A Year of Books
Account Services

Child-focused adventure with important ecological message wins Branford Boase Award

5th July 2017

M. G. Leonard and her editors Barry Cunningham and Rachel Leyshon have won the 2017 Branford Boase Award given annually to the author and editor of the outstanding debut novel for children, for Beetle Boy published by Chicken House. Publisher Chicken House has now won the award a record four times.


Now in its seventeenth year the Branford Boase Award is awarded to the author - and uniquely, the editor – of the outstanding debut novel for children. Known as ‘the one to watch’, it is recognised as one of the most important awards in children’s books thanks to its impressive record in identifying authors with special talent at the start of their careers.


On a shortlist that reflects the current boom in original, inventive, well-written books for children aged 8 – 12 (‘middle grade’), M G Leonard’s thrilling adventure of a boy and his beetle, and the array of wonderfully villainous adults lined up against them, stood out for its humour, characters and plotting and because of Leonard’s special understanding of her young audience.


Beetle Boy fuses science and sleuthing. When Darkus’s dad goes missing a giant beetle called Baxter comes to his rescue, but can the two solve the mystery of his dad's disappearance, especially when links emerge to cruel Lucretia Cutter and her penchant for beetle jewellery?


The book is already an international bestseller with rights sold in more than 30 different countries and has thousands of young fans in the UK who love this rollicking adventure.


On winning the award Leonard said: ‘My heart is brimming over with joy and delight that Beetle Boy has won the Branford Boase Award. I would never have dreamed such a prestigious award was within my reach, because my literary beginnings were extremely humble. I wrestled unsuccessfully with the English language at school and didn't get to university until my late twenties, doing my first degree with the Open University. My route into higher education, writing and storytelling was provoked and inspired by my love of the theatre.

The language of entomology was new to me when I began writing Beetle Boy, and the vocabulary alien. I worked for the best part of a decade, researching coleoptera, writing and rewriting the story to introduce the reader to this new language without alienating them. I love my subject, I love my characters and I'm over the moon that the award will help put the book into the hands of more children. I hope the story will inspire children to go outside, turn over a stone, or look amongst the flowers and marvel at the wonder of the insect world.

I am particularly happy that this award is shared with my editors Barry Cunningham and Rachel Leyshon. Everyone who writes a book knows it is a team effort. My editors have taught me a great deal, and helped me to develop confidence in my writing. I am excited about our partnership and what stories we might bring into the world together in the future.’


Last year’s winner, Horatio Clare, a judge for the 2017 award said: ‘Beetle Boy is a wonderfully funny, energetic and involving story. It combines classic story-telling with a tremendous sense of fun and excitement. I expect children will be reading it with huge pleasure and interest for many years to come.’ He added, ‘This win is good news for books and beetles!’


Chair of the judges, children’s literature expert Julia Eccleshare said, ‘The UK children’s book market is booming, and our shortlist reflected all the new vigour and excitement in the market. M.G. Leonard is a classic storyteller, in the tradition of Roald Dahl or Dodie Smith, but an original voice. We predict that once again the Branford Boase Award judges have recognized an author who will be thrilling young readers for decades to come.’


Winning editors Rachel Leyshon and Barry Cunningham said: ‘We were so lucky to find in Maya one of the best debut authors we’d ever come across – one who knew the story she wanted to write, and who was then so willing and able to beetle away on it, editorially speaking. We are thrilled that she has received this hugely important recognition of her talent and originality, and feel sure that this marks not just a celebration of one book, but also the launch of a famous career.’


* Chicken House have decided that to celebrate their record win, they will be holding an open novel pitch period on Twitter on Friday 7th July – from 12-5pm, inviting writers to submit their novel in one tweet to Barry Cunningham and Rachel Leyshon via @chickenhsebooks. Those would-be authors whose pitches appeal will be ‘liked’ by the Chicken House Twitter account, and will be invited to send a full pitch across for Barry and Rachel to read. Full instructions will be released from the Chicken House Twitter account and via their website on Thursday morning.

Barry Cunningham said: ‘I am proud to introduce new writers and to help them fulfil their potential. Finding the editorial magic is a privilege and a pleasure, and Beetle Boy is simply one of the best books I’ve ever published.’


Photo l to r: Rachel Leyshon, M.G. Leonard, Barry Cunningham and a previous winner Frances Hardinge, who presented this year's winners with their award



Related Items

Beetle Boy
M. G. Leonard
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close