Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
A Year of Books
Account Services

British Book Award Winners Announced

9th May 2017

The winning books in each of six categories for the 2017 Books of the Year Awards or ‘Nibbies’ have been announced, including an overall book of the year, Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent, while J K Rowling received an award for Outstanding Contribution to the Book trade as 'a loud and proud force for good'. Meanwhile, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child won the inaugural Bestseller of the Year award, which recognises the commercial success of the year’s big books and their wider impact on the book market..

Uniquely, the awards honour not just the author and illustrator of a title but the entire publishing team, to celebrate the whole journey from the author's mind to the reader's hand, and showcase the range and depth of modern publishing.

Chair of Judges for the Books of the Year Cathy Rentzenbrink said, 'The Essex Serpent is a joyous and beguiling novel that made me wish I was a bookseller again so I could press it into the hands of all my customers... [It] is a perfect winer of this prize - a stunning book published with both skill and love that engaged the entire industry.' She went on to say, 'If you were telling a narrative of this prize you would want to invent that book so it could win it, because it's such a conjunction of authorial talent, publisher love, care, skill, dedication and then all of those things meeting the trade - all the voices of people who want to  amplify books and talk about them - in the right way.'

Produced by leading industry magazine The Bookseller, the British Book Awards, or Nibbies, is the definitive event for honouring the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookships.

Pan Macmillan was named Publisher of the Year for the second time in three years, after claiming the title in 2015, Nosy Crow was Children's Publisher of the Year and Waterstones was declared Book Retailer of the Year.


The category winners are as follows:


The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry (Serpent’s Tail) Read our exclusive author interview here



What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell (Picador)


Crime and Thriller BOOK OF THE YEAR

Dodgers by Bill Beverly (No Exit Press)


Non-fiction: Narrative BOOK OF THE YEAR

East West Street by Philippe Sands (W&N)


Non-fiction: Lifestyle BOOK OF THE YEAR

Hello, is this Planet Earth? By Tim Peake (Century)



The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargreave (Chicken House)


See the full shortlists here

Related Items

The Girl of Ink & Stars
Kiran Millwood Hargrave
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child -...
J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John...
The Essex Serpent
Sarah Perry
Bill Beverly
East West Street
Philippe Sands
What Belongs to You
Garth Greenwell
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close