CWA Dagger winners are unveiled
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

CWA Dagger winners are unveiled

6th July 2012

The winners of the 2012 Crime Writers' Association (CWA) Dagger awards, which recognise the best crime novels written over the past 12 months, have been revealed.

Seven Daggers were awarded at a ceremony in the Library at One Birdcage Walk in London last night (July 5th), with Aly Monroe scooping the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger for Icelight.

The CWA International Dagger was won by Andrea Camilleri for his latest Inspector Montalbano novel, The Potter's Field, while the husband and wife team of Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan picked up the CWA Dagger for Non-fiction for The Eleventh Day.

Cath Staincliffe and Margaret Murphy shared the CWA Short Story Dagger for two stories in the Murder Squad anthology Best Eaten Cold, while the 2012 Debut Dagger was won by Sandy Gingras for Beached.

The CWA Dagger in the Library, which honours authors who have perhaps not had the mainstream recognition they deserve, was won by Steve Mosby, who was also nominated for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award this week for Black Flowers.

Meanwhile, genre stalwart Frederick Forsyth was presented with the CWA's lifetime achievement award, the Diamond Dagger, in recognition of his contribution to crime and thriller writing.

Peter James, chair of the CWA, praised the 'truly stellar line-up' of nominees and said the judges struggled to decide a winner in many categories.

'The CWA Dagger Awards are the longest running literary awards in the UK and the quality of the entries, judges and those attending the ceremony demonstrates just how sought-after and prestigious they are,' he added.

'Many crime writers, including such great names as Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Elmore Leonard and of course tonight, Freddie Forsyth, have held these prizes - and, so far as we know, never yet stabbed anyone with them. But there's always the first time…'

The ceremony also saw the launch of three more Daggers – the CWA Gold Dagger, CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger and CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger – the winners of which will be announced at the 2012 Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards in the autumn.

© W&G Foyle Ltd