Denise Mina wins Theakston's Old Peculier Award
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

Denise Mina wins Theakston's Old Peculier Award

23rd July 2012

The 2012 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, one of the most prestigious prizes in the genre, has been won by Denise Mina for her ninth novel The End of the Wasp Season.

Mina beat off competition from a strong shortlist to win the award, which carries a prize of GBP 3,000 and was presented on the opening night of the tenth annual Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

The author said she was delighted to have triumphed over a shortlist that included genre stalwart John Connolly's latest novel, The Burning Soul, and S. J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, which won the thriller and crime prize at the 2011 Galaxy National Book Awards.

On receiving the prize, Mina expressed her surprise: 'I’m only here to prove I’m a good sport! I’ve lost a tenner in a bet! There’s something lovely about the collegiate attitude of crime writers and together it makes us balls-ier!

'I’m a bit blown away, to be honest. I was really blown away by being on the shortlist. I’m so astonished I can’t even swear!'

Simon Theakston, executive director of prize sponsor T&R Theakston, also presented Mina with a handmade oak cask engraved with the author's name and the novel's title and described her as a 'fantastically talented writer'.

He added that the book, which is set on the streets of Glasgow, is a great example of the 'tartan noir' sub-genre.

'It was a very tough decision this year as all the books on the shortlist were outstanding in different ways but I’m delighted to be able to hand the trophy to Denise, the first woman to have won since 2008, for this hugely atmospheric and haunting book,' Theakston added.

Mina follows in the footsteps of Lee Child, who won the 2011 Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for his acclaimed thriller 61 Hours.

© W&G Foyle Ltd