Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Total number of items: 0
Sub total: £0.00
A Year of Books
Account Services
Our Chelmsford shop
Our Birmingham Shop
Our Bristol Shop
Animators Survival Kit

Winner Announced of Gordon Burn Prize

12th October 2017

The Gordon Burn Prize 2017 was awarded on Thursday evening at Durham Book Festival to a writer that turned dreadful fact into eerily engaging fiction. The selection continues the prize’s tradition of recognising brilliant and unique work, the most interesting of contemporary writing. This year it salutes the writer’s brave and daring journey into the dark heart of a notorious Glasgow crime in the service of bringing the story to the page. The winner is: The Long Drop by Denise Mina (Harvill Secker)


The Long Drop was selected from six shortlisted titles of fiction, memoir and travel writing. Mina takes us back to Glasgow in the late 1950s where a series of deeply disturbing and violent murders have shaken the city.  The novel is based on the true story of William Watt, who wants answers about his family’s murders, and Peter Manuel, who has them. The reader is drawn in to this unsettling relationship and the gaping chasm between the official verdict and the story people tell each other.


Novelist, broadcaster and journalist Ian Sansom, one of the judges, commented: 'Denise Mina's The Long Drop is a truly startling and shocking work whose great literary ambition and inventiveness is matched by its moral complexity.  In the opinion of the judges, the book upholds and continues that great tradition of literature both as a form of radical inquiry and as great pleasure, epitomised in the work of Gordon Burn.'


Denise Mina has published twelve novels, as well as writing short stories, plays and graphic novels adapted from Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy books.  The Long Drop was published in March 2017 and immediately garnered praise as 'a masterpiece by the woman who may be Britain’s finest living crime novelist' (Daily Telegraph) and 'not just a success and a thrilling read in its own right, but a game-changer for the genre' (Stuart Kelly, Scotland on Sunday).


The prize was established in 2012 to celebrate the legacy of one of literature’s great innovators. Gordon Burn’s writing was precise and rigorous, and often blurred the line between fact and fiction. Over the past 18 months and since the advent of Brexit and Trump, we have seen the emergence of ideas like 'fake news and 'post-truth'. Gordon's writing often explored these murky and ambiguous territories. He grasped, intuitively, how supposedly 'fact-based' reportage can warp the truth just as fiction can aspire to reveal it. In this respect much of his writing has the ring of contemporary relevance to it.


He wrote across a wide range of subjects, from celebrities to serial killers, politics to contemporary art; his works include the novels Fullalove and Born Yesterday: The News as a Novel, and non-fiction including Happy Like Murderers: The Story of Fred and Rosemary West, Best and Edwards: Football, Fame and Oblivion and Sex & Violence, Death & Silence: Encounters with Recent Art.


Read our blog about the shortlist here


Related Items

This is the Place to Be
Lara Pawson
This is Memorial Device: An...
David Keenan

Currently out of stock

Border: A Journey to the Edge of Europe
Kapka Kassabova
The Long Drop
Denise Mina

Currently out of stock

First Love
Gwendoline Riley
Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile
Adelle Stripe
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close