Man Booker Prize 2012 shortlist announced
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

Man Booker Prize 2012 shortlist announced

11th September 2012

The shortlist for the 2012 Man Booker Prize has been announced, with 2009 winner Hilary Mantel once again in contention with Bring Up The Bodies, the follow-up to the acclaimed Wolf Hall.

Her continuation of the life of Thomas Cromwell is one of six titles in contention for the GBP 50,000 prize, which is regarded as one of the most important literary awards in the world in terms of exposure.

One of the more established names on the shortlist is Will Self, a former winner of the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize, who will be looking to land by far the biggest literary award of his career with his ninth novel, Umbrella.

Two debut authors have made the final six, including Alison Moore, whose novel The Lighthouse was described as a 'heart-wrenching page-turner' by the Guardian and praised for its brutal ending.

The other first-time author on the list is Jeet Thayil, whose Mumbai-set novel Narcopolis was described as 'an engrossing account of the trance propaganda can produce' by the Independent.

The 2012 shortlist is completed by Deborah Levy's Swimming Home, the author's first novel since 2004's acclaimed Pillow Talk in Europe and Other Places, and The Garden of Evening Mists by Malaysian writer Tan Twan Eng.

Commenting on the six remaining contenders, Sir Peter Stothard, chair of judges, said: 'After re-reading an extraordinary longlist of 12, it was the pure power of prose that settled most debates.

'We loved the shock of language shown in so many different ways and were exhilarated by the vigour and vividly defined values in the six books that we chose - and in the visible confidence of the novel's place in forming our words and ideas.'

Each of the shortlisted writers will receive GBP 2,500, with the winner of the GBP 50,000 prize announced at London's Guildhall on Tuesday October 16th.

The victorious author will follow in the footsteps of Julian Barnes, who scooped the 2011 Man Booker Prize for The Sense of an Ending.

© W&G Foyle Ltd