Orwell Prize longlists revealed
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

Orwell Prize longlists revealed

31st March 2011

The longlists for the book, journalism and blog categories of the Orwell Prize 2011 have been announced.

A total of 213 books were considered by this year's judges - BBC Radio 4 presenter Jim Naughtie, founder and director of Virago Press Ursula Owen and books editor of the Observer Will Skidelsky.

The Journalism Prize longlist features 15 journalists, who were whittled down from 87 by judges Martin Bright, political editor of the Jewish Chronicle, founder and chief executive of New Deal of the Mind and Michela Wrong, journalist and author.

Some 22 people made the longlist for the Blog Prize, which will be judged by David Allen Green, who was shortlisted for the Blog Prize 2010 as Jack of Kent, and Gaby Hinsliff, a blogger and former political editor of the Observer.

Andrea Gillies won the Book Prize last year with Keeper: A Book About Memory, Identity, Isolation, Wordsworth and Cake.

The full longlist for the 2011 Book Prize is as follows:

Tom Bingham, The Rule of Law
Oliver Bullough, Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys Among the Defiant People of the Caucasus
Tim Butcher, Chasing the Devil: The Search for Africa's Fighting Spirit
Ha-Joon Chang, 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
Edmund De Waal, The Hare With Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance
Helen Dunmore, The Betrayal
John A Hall, Ernest Gellner
Owen Hatherley, A Guide to the New Ruins of Great Britain
Christopher Hitchens, Hitch-22
Zaiba Malik, We Are a Muslim, Please
Afsaneh Moqadam, Death to the Dictator!
Ian Morris, Why the West Rules for Now
Chris Mullin, Decline and Fall
Fintan O'Toole, Enough is Enough
Steve Richards, Whatever It Takes: The Real Story of Gordon Brown and New Labour
Francis Spufford, Red Plenty
D. R. Thorpe, Supermac: The Life of Harold MacMillan
Natasha Walter, Living Dolls 

© W&G Foyle Ltd